Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2022, 02:59 PM   #1
IDDQDSound
Human being with feelings
 
IDDQDSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 137
Default Render Region Matrix Tracks (via master) (DONE)

Hi! I'm using the Render Region Matrix to render a bunch of podcast tracks, but I want them to render via master tracks. Seems like it defaults to just rendering selected tracks. Is there a way around this I'm too dumb to find?
IDDQDSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 03:08 PM   #2
nepenthe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IDDQDSound View Post
Hi! I'm using the Render Region Matrix to render a bunch of podcast tracks, but I want them to render via master tracks. Seems like it defaults to just rendering selected tracks. Is there a way around this I'm too dumb to find?
Make sure the "Master mix" box is checked underneath your region in the Region Render Matrix.
nepenthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 03:22 PM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,943
Default

You can render any of these combinations:

{ selected tracks via master } x { all regions}
{ selected tracks via master } x { selected regions }
{ any set of tracks via master } x { any set of razor edits } <= this may be what you want, although it might be time consuming to set up
{ any set of tracks and/or master mix } x { any set of regions } via render matrix

but not:

{ any set of tracks via master } x { any set of regions } via render matrix <= we should probably add support for this

Last edited by schwa; 04-14-2022 at 03:30 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 12:13 PM   #4
IDDQDSound
Human being with feelings
 
IDDQDSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 137
Default

that would be great yeah! I didn't choose master Mix cuz I still want the selected tracks separately, but I want them to go through my master track.

I was a bit confused by the options too cuz you can selected region render matrix from the source but also from the bounds. So it wasn't easy to figure out all the possible combos.
IDDQDSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 02:15 PM   #5
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,453
Default

I cannot seem to get this to work.

I try to render region through master track. My settings look like this:



As it looks to me, the region "Lack 12" is selected, and I have "Selected regions", but still Reaper says zero files to render. I expect a render "R:\Renders\GLO-LablazIII-Lack 12.wav", but Reaper doesn't agree.

Can anyone hint me on what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks.

Reaper v6.54, W7x64
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 03:07 PM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,943
Default

You have the render set to render only the master mix, only selected regions. But no regions are selected. (Selecting a region is different from checking the boxes in the render matrix.)

If you want to use the render matrix, choose "region render matrix" from the source dropdown.

Equivalently, if you only want to render the master mix and only the one region, open the region manager and select just the first region.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 04:07 PM   #7
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
If you want to use the render matrix, choose "region render matrix" from the source dropdown.
I tried that but I did not see what I expected:


I expected the file name to be "R:\Renders\Lack 12.wav". Something about this seems to be above my IQ level...
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 04:10 PM   #8
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Equivalently, if you only want to render the master mix and only the one region, open the region manager and select just the first region.
Even in this case I am lost...

__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 04:34 PM   #9
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,943
Default

The wildcard you want is just "$region."

In post #7 you still have "selected regions" enabled. That is intended to let you select regions in the region manager, as you are doing in post #8. If you want to use the region matrix to completely specify which regions to render, set "bounds" to "project regions."

The idea with project regions vs selected regions is that you can set up a region matrix render, then either render everything you have chosen in the matrix, or use the region manager to select regions so you can render only parts of the matrix if needed.

In post #8 everything will be as you expect if you just fix the wildcard. From the wildcard help:

Quote:
Originally Posted by the wildcard help
$region : region name
$region(name) : value part of region matching name=value
If you had a region named, for example, "name=value", then $region would resolve to "name=value" and $region(name) would resolve to just "value". If the region was named "foo=bar" then $region(foo) would resolve to "bar".
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.