Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2022, 09:57 AM   #1
loji
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 30
Default AA plugs report Reaper Oversample 96k as 88.2k

Setting the Reaper oversampling for an FX instance to ~96k only doubles the rate (not oversample to 96k)

N4 reports an 88.2 rate when oversample engaged, likewise for 192k = 176400

is this expected behavior?
loji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 10:58 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,756
Default

Yep the ~ means approximately— it only doubles rates does not do 44 to 96 etc. Perhaps we should rename these to 88/96 and 176/192 etc
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 03:04 PM   #3
loji
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks Justin,

or a simple x2, x4, etc ..

ie: what happens if you're at 88.2 and select the ~96k option?

is it x2 of 88.2 ... or . . .
loji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2022, 09:30 AM   #4
ScuzzyEye
Human being with feelings
 
ScuzzyEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loji View Post
Thanks Justin,

or a simple x2, x4, etc ..

ie: what happens if you're at 88.2 and select the ~96k option?

is it x2 of 88.2 ... or . . .
I think the problem with saying x2 or x4, is if you're running at 96k already, x4 puts the rate at 384k, and many plug-in don't support anything higher than 192k. So it isn't really a multiplier-based oversampling, but instead setting a requested (higher) sampling rate for the plug-in to be run at. Thus setting it to ~96k when working at 88.2k, gets 88.2k. Same as if you render at 192k, but have the oversampling at ~96k, you'll get 192k, because it picks the highest of the requested rates (be it FX instance or chain, or indeed rendering that is the greatest).

I think the proposed 88.2k/96k and 176.4k/192k labels are the most clear. You know you're getting integer oversampling. Fractional resampling is much harder to get right, and I try to avoid it if at all possible, knowing that Reaper is planning to do the right thing based on the label is helpful.
ScuzzyEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2022, 04:35 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loji View Post
Thanks Justin,

or a simple x2, x4, etc ..

ie: what happens if you're at 88.2 and select the ~96k option?

is it x2 of 88.2 ... or . . .
If you're at 88.2 and you select ~96k, it still runs at 88.2
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.