Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2022, 06:21 AM   #1
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default Spanish Keyboard in Manjaro : can't enter special/accented characters

The title says it all : I just can't type (for example in tracks' names) accented or special characters in Manjaro -instead, a square appears-. Not a deal breaker, obviously, but for the sake of ortography, I'd like to know if this is a bug, or anything related to REAPER/OS settings.


Any insight will be appreciated...


Thanks in advance.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 06:32 AM   #2
elcalen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 263
Default

Does this happen particularly when typing the character requires a sequence of multiple keystrokes? If so, it sounds like the same issue I've had on a Finnish keyboard layout for a long time, and I've definitely written about it before (though it doesn't seem to have caught the devs' attention)...

I can't, for example, enter a tilde, because on my layout that requires hitting the tilde key twice. Since the tilde is very commonly used in programming, that's pretty annoying when writing scripts.
__________________
Artist name Ben Enkindle. Making electronic music exclusively with Linux software.
elcalen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 09:28 AM   #3
Mcgiver69
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
The title says it all : I just can't type (for example in tracks' names) accented or special characters in Manjaro -instead, a square appears-. Not a deal breaker, obviously, but for the sake of ortography, I'd like to know if this is a bug, or anything related to REAPER/OS settings.


Any insight will be appreciated...


Thanks in advance.
If this is only happening within Reaper then I would advise installing Spanish in Reaper.
Mcgiver69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2022, 07:00 AM   #4
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elcalen View Post
Does this happen particularly when typing the character requires a sequence of multiple keystrokes? If so, it sounds like the same issue I've had on a Finnish keyboard layout for a long time, and I've definitely written about it before (though it doesn't seem to have caught the devs' attention)...

I can't, for example, enter a tilde, because on my layout that requires hitting the tilde key twice. Since the tilde is very commonly used in programming, that's pretty annoying when writing scripts.

Thanks for the replies, people. In this case, it certainly involves pressing too keys in sequence (for example, the tilde key and the letter which will be accented). It certainly is a Linux-only issue, but taking into account your comment, it probably is one of those things that you have to deal with... At least, I know that it's not only my setup alone...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcgiver69 View Post
If this is only happening within Reaper then I would advise installing Spanish in Reaper.

Thanks for the advice... Anyway, the same happens after installing the spanish translation. It must be a deeper issue, although I imagine it's a quick fix, potentially...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2022, 07:16 AM   #5
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,049
Default

Same problem with Reaper in French here. No accents possible; I get squares whenever there's an accented character. Not a Manjaro or Arch Linux issue but REAPER-specific. I'm using Endaevour OS.
Perhaps installing the "localisation" patch available for REAPER?

Last edited by krahosk; 12-08-2022 at 07:22 AM.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2022, 08:46 AM   #6
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

I see... You mean, setting the LC_NUMERIC thing to English? I already did that; but I don't know if there's something else to be done...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2022, 10:46 AM   #7
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,828
Default

it affects all text fields in REAPER.
the only way I know is to write it outside REAPER and copy paste...
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2022, 10:46 AM   #8
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,049
Default

❑a n'a pas march❑, h❑nn❑tement.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 11:25 AM   #9
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
it affects all text fields in REAPER.
the only way I know is to write it outside REAPER and copy paste...

You're right, Heda... Or, to catch the devs' attention, which might or might not happen. Would it be useful to open an issue in the Bug Reports section?


Quote:
Originally Posted by krahosk View Post
❑a n'a pas march❑, h❑nn❑tement.

This is exactly what happens!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 05:23 PM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,866
Default

Yeah, the multi-key keys aren't supported right yet, I'll keep digging at fixing this.

Edit: I think we can add support for the most common dead key combinations, hopefully soonish.

Last edited by Justin; 12-13-2022 at 06:03 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 09:20 PM   #11
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

Oh, thanks soooo much for the reply, Justin!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 09:43 PM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,866
Default

If you want to build your own libSwell, you can try this branch which might help:

https://github.com/justinfrankel/WDL/tree/swell_gdk_kb

(will be in the 6.73+dev builds in a week or so)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2022, 04:56 PM   #13
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

Thanks again, Justin! I confess that building things in Linux is not something I do very often. Hence, I should have to look into it, and probably, right at this moment, it's more practical for me to wait that week or so until the pre includes it... Anyway, thanks for all as usual, and it's nice to know that we'll have the feature available soon.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 04:22 PM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,866
Default

Today's +dev build should improve this, I hope! It doesn't preview the composed keys, but hitting the sequences should produce the correct output. I'll start thinking about previews soon.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2022, 07:54 AM   #15
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

Thank you very, very much, Justin! All the main combinations work - specially the accent, which was probably the most uncomfortable one when it was lacking -. I've found at least one combination that doesn't work (the Ctrl Alt key coupled with the ' and ç keys which should oputput the { } brackets in a spanish keyboard), but I personally don't care about it. It doesn't show a square when you use that combination, though.


Hats off to you, sir, as usual!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2022, 10:43 AM   #16
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,049
Default

Thank you Justin! The diaeresis (or tréma in French) is now fully featured in the word NOËL! Joyeux Noël to all.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2022, 05:20 AM   #17
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,828
Default

it works! Thank you Justin
as @Soli Deo Gloria mentions ALtGR+ç should output the } bracket but it doesn't work. Or AltGR+' = { either.
But other combinations of ALTGR work. For example ALTGR+2 outputs the @ or ALTGR + ` = [ etc. Those work
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2022, 07:11 PM   #18
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
it works! Thank you Justin
as @Soli Deo Gloria mentions ALtGR+ç should output the } bracket but it doesn't work. Or AltGR+' = { either.
But other combinations of ALTGR work. For example ALTGR+2 outputs the @ or ALTGR + ` = [ etc. Those work
I assume this is in the track name field? They don't work on a US keyboard either! Oops, fixing

How about in project settings, do they work in those edit fields?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2022, 06:07 AM   #19
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
How about in project settings, do they work in those edit fields?
yes it was in the track name field
and yes it works in the project settings dialog!
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2022, 08:11 AM   #20
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

Exactly!


The Alt Gr combination I mentioned above doesn´t work in the track name field, but it certaily does in the Project Settings fields and the Preferences dialog. It doesn't work in the FX search window, neither.

Last edited by Soli Deo Gloria; 12-23-2022 at 11:51 AM.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2022, 11:52 AM   #21
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,269
Default

Fixed in 6.73 Rc1!


Thanks so much, Justin!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.