Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2022, 07:10 AM   #1
bubo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 5
Default [6.71] - Bug with Stillwell VST3 Plugins (SOLVED)

Face the following Bug after updating to 6.71:

Existing Project playing well with 6.70 when downgrading.

Windows 7 Pro/64

Affected Plugins: Stillwell Audio
Plugin/Type : Rocket/VST3
Plugin/Type : Bombardier/VST3

[EDIT]
Other Stillwell VST3 also affetcted.
[/EDIT]


Error: Don´t pass audio anymore on folder as well as on parallel compression bus (drums), both stereo.

Channel config for VST3 (I/O):
Request VST3 bus channel count: Stereo
Track channels : 2
VST3 bus size : 2


Workaround-1 : Switch to VST
Workaround-2 : Enable aux input L/R alongside main input L/R although not receiving any audio by other channels through aux.

[edit]
Following statement is obsolete.
Further tests showed similar behaviour with more Stillwell Plugnis:
//Other Stillwell VTS3 Plugins (EQs, Clipper,...) are not affected neither on other channels nor the above mentioned channels.//
[/edit]

Anyone else having issues with those?

Cheers

Last edited by bubo; 12-19-2022 at 12:58 AM. Reason: Format, readability, OS added, revised statement about other plugins by Stillwell
bubo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 09:13 AM   #2
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 594
Default

I will check later when I’m back at my desk. But from memory (on windows) the Stillwell VST3s also has issues with showing as unregistered when the VST2’s showed as registered.
They are quite old now and I’m not sure they’ve had much love the past few years.
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 09:34 AM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,745
Default

Quote:
Error: Don´t pass audio anymore on folder as well as on parallel compression bus (drums), both stereo.
Do you mean it produces silence?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 11:49 AM   #4
bubo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for chiming in.

Yes, as if those channels resp. this folder is muted.

If mentioned fx are bypassed all is playing fine, if activated and not used the workaround enabling aux inputs L and R in Pin-Connector the channel is like muted.

It´s not as if this would be a big issue since i am fine with the VST, too.

Was more intended to report as it could turn out as a general issue.


Addendum - some further investigations:

Setup:
2 Tracks-> 1 panned hard left / 2 panned hard right -> sending to Masterbus -> e.g Bombardier/VST3 with enabled aux inputs L and R in Pin-Connector as described above. -> Master is playing fine.
Mute Track 1 OR Track 2 -> Master is completely muted

Those Plugins that don´t have an "AUX-IN" play fine when track 1 and 2 are playing. Pure silence on Master again when muting one or the other track.
Same goes for when there is no item on one or the other track

Last edited by bubo; 12-16-2022 at 01:18 PM. Reason: typo
bubo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 06:26 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,745
Default

Edit: ah, try setting "Buggy Plug-in Compatibility" mode. It seems these plug-ins treat VST3 silence flags as a boolean rather than a bitmask.

Last edited by Justin; 12-16-2022 at 09:42 PM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 10:13 PM   #6
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,562
Default

Are you using the latest versions of the plugins from the website (i.e. how long ago did you download them?)

I'll check it out and see if we already have that fixed in internal builds. If not, we'll find a fix. Please file a support ticket over at https://support.stillwellaudio.com/ so I have something to track against.

*EDIT* - it looks like we don't code anything explicitly regarding the silence flags, so I'm expecting that the behavior is due to a bug in the specific version of the VST3 SDK we were using at the time. Updated versions should hopefully not have the same issue. We can discuss further on support ticket.
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/

Last edited by sstillwell; 12-16-2022 at 10:23 PM.
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 04:33 AM   #7
phonofranz
Human being with feelings
 
phonofranz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Padova, Italy
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Edit: ah, try setting "Buggy Plug-in Compatibility" mode. It seems these plug-ins treat VST3 silence flags as a boolean rather than a bitmask.
I have the same issue with Rocket and Bombardier (updated).

I can confirm that "Buggy Plug-in Compatibility" mode fixes it.

Question: does this mode have any potential drawback?
__________________
Franz[.]Suono - Studio di Registrazione
http://www.franzsuono.com https://www.facebook.com/franzpuntosuono
phonofranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 05:52 AM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,820
Default

I note that the VST3 example plugin provided with the SDK handles silenceFlags incorrectly (and is commented as being wrong -- not so useful!)

https://github.com/steinbergmedia/vs...again.cpp#L221
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 11:06 AM   #9
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I note that the VST3 example plugin provided with the SDK handles silenceFlags incorrectly (and is commented as being wrong -- not so useful!)

https://github.com/steinbergmedia/vs...again.cpp#L221
@schwa do you have a reference for what is CORRECT handling? If this value is a bit mask, do you know where the individual bit values are documented?
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 11:10 AM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,820
Default

silenceFlags&1 : channel 0 is silent
silenceFlags&2 : channel 1 is silent
silenceFlags&4 : channel 2 is silent
etc.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 11:11 AM   #11
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallace View Post
I will check later when I’m back at my desk. But from memory (on windows) the Stillwell VST3s also has issues with showing as unregistered when the VST2’s showed as registered.
They are quite old now and I’m not sure they’ve had much love the past few years.
The issue with VST3 licensing on REAPER-only licenses (that's the only time it occurs) has been fixed for a few years now - the fixed version is available on request via our support system.

The plugins are still getting a lot of love here...it's just that a lot of what we're doing right now is not visible until we release a new version. I can understand that this doesn't do a lot for you right now, but it is happening all the same.
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 11:11 AM   #12
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
silenceFlags&1 : channel 0 is silent
silenceFlags&2 : channel 1 is silent
silenceFlags&4 : channel 2 is silent
etc.
Gotcha, thanks!
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 12:56 PM   #13
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sstillwell View Post
The issue with VST3 licensing on REAPER-only licenses (that's the only time it occurs) has been fixed for a few years now - the fixed version is available on request via our support system.

The plugins are still getting a lot of love here...it's just that a lot of what we're doing right now is not visible until we release a new version. I can understand that this doesn't do a lot for you right now, but it is happening all the same.
Thanks. That’s great to know. Use these a lot!
Will put in a request via the site.

Last edited by wallace; 12-17-2022 at 01:26 PM.
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2022, 06:07 AM   #14
bubo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sstillwell View Post
Are you using the latest versions of the plugins from the website (i.e. how long ago did you download them?)

I'll check it out and see if we already have that fixed in internal builds. If not, we'll find a fix. Please file a support ticket over at https://support.stillwellaudio.com/ so I have something to track against.
...
Did not touch them for quiet a while since i only got aware of Stillwell when i basically started with recording about 2 years ago.
Went on with mainly ReaPlug-ins and JS-fx but also with another vendor (of the bigger ones)...
Often got sick about the hassle with their licensing-manager, but also increased skills to a point where today i can rate functionality as well as audio better, so i went back to check out yours again.

Long story short:
Yes, the mentioned and buggy PlugIns are the most current ones to get from your website.
Also downloaded others from there after my first post just to check for this very bug -like explained in the addendum in my previous post- and they all behave them same.

I will further get in touch through your support-system, since this turns out to be non Reaper related.

Will also mark this thread a solved, at least regarding Reaper.

Last edited by bubo; 12-18-2022 at 06:19 AM.
bubo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.