Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2022, 06:35 AM   #1
mykrobinson
Human being with feelings
 
mykrobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 1,147
Default Track Based Edit Grouping vs Item Based Grouping vs Takes?

I started playing with track based grouping for editing yesterday and stumbled across an interesting issue. Just wanted to talk it through and see what other folks think,

Typically before i start editing drums, I would group all the media items. This would ensure that my edits occur on all the drum media items, so long as they are a part of the group, and the grouping retains downstream after cuts, slip edits, etc

The track based workflow is great but i am learning that it does not allow for changing takes across the items in the tracks, if the items themselves are not grouped.

Is this a bug or is this by design?

Last edited by mykrobinson; 12-31-2022 at 06:47 AM. Reason: spelling error
mykrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 06:56 AM   #2
mykrobinson
Human being with feelings
 
mykrobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 1,147
Default

as i think about this, this is probably by design. If i change takes on a part of a performance that has been cut, i do not necessarily want the entire performance to change takes, but just the selected part.

Hmmm.... So the track based edit grouping is good, but there still exists the need for item grouping with regards to takes/comping.
mykrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 07:06 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,920
Default

I think it that grouped tracks should follow active take changes on the leader track, yes. We'll make this change.

Note that track edit groups *do* currently follow changes in takes that are done via actions, like deleting or duplicating or previous/next take. What's not handled yet is changing takes via mouse-click.

Last edited by schwa; 12-31-2022 at 07:17 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 07:15 AM   #4
mykrobinson
Human being with feelings
 
mykrobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I think it that grouped tracks should follow active take changes on the leader track, yes. We'll make this change.
will this cause a conflict, though, if you have cut a section and only want to change the take for that portion?
mykrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 07:19 AM   #5
mykrobinson
Human being with feelings
 
mykrobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Note that track edit groups *do* currently follow changes in takes that are done via actions, like deleting or duplicating or previous/next take. What's not handled yet is changing takes via mouse-click.
If it matters, it was working with T or Shift+T yesterday, best i recall. This is assuming that the keyboard presses are triggering actions and not interpreted the same as a mouse click. Curious to try again and see if i was just doing something wrong.
mykrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 07:26 AM   #6
mykrobinson
Human being with feelings
 
mykrobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 1,147
Default

UPDATE: @schwa, i was wrong, i apparently was actually using the mouse yesterday, which is unusual. It does work with keyboard shortcuts for changing takes
mykrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.