 |
|
|
03-05-2023, 03:45 PM
|
#1
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
[Done]API for renaming FX instance
Would be great to finally have API for renaming FX instances, because now it has to be done via chunks, which is unstable and pretty dangerous, especially if any changes are going to happen to FX chain state.
Here is how it could look like:
boolean retval = reaper.TrackFX_SetFXName(MediaTrack track, integer fx, string newname)
Last edited by vitalker; 03-26-2023 at 03:43 AM.
|
|
|
03-06-2023, 02:24 AM
|
#2
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 78
|
+1
|
|
|
03-07-2023, 02:21 AM
|
#3
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Right here
Posts: 102
|
+1
|
|
|
03-07-2023, 05:35 AM
|
#4
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,207
|
+1 I also requested this before.
|
|
|
03-07-2023, 06:09 AM
|
#5
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb
+1 I also requested this before.
|
You can link it here
|
|
|
03-07-2023, 06:28 AM
|
#6
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,207
|
i talked/requested about in API request section.
|
|
|
03-07-2023, 06:46 AM
|
#7
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb
i talked/requested about in API request section.
|
What is that?
|
|
|
03-07-2023, 07:23 AM
|
#8
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,207
|
|
|
|
03-07-2023, 07:31 AM
|
#9
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb
|
That's a wish list in different forum and I am not sure the devs are reading it at all.
|
|
|
03-11-2023, 02:03 PM
|
#10
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,115
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker
W
Here is how it could look like:
boolean retval = reaper.TrackFX_SetFXName(MediaTrack track, integer fx )
|
I think it should rather be:
boolean retval = reaper.TrackFX_SetFXName( MediaTrack track, integer fx, string newname)
|
|
|
03-11-2023, 02:41 PM
|
#11
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine
I think it should rather be:
boolean retval = reaper.TrackFX_SetFXName(MediaTrack track, integer fx, string newname)
|
Yes, you are right. Thanks, updating!
|
|
|
03-20-2023, 04:10 PM
|
#12
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
It's pretty important and messing with track state isn't a good idea.
|
|
|
03-21-2023, 12:23 AM
|
#13
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,207
|
Yes it is. Sooner or later they will implement this I hope.
|
|
|
03-24-2023, 04:18 AM
|
#14
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 314
|
+1001
A native api for this would make life easier for a lot of scripters.
|
|
|
03-24-2023, 05:19 PM
|
#15
|
Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,216
|
We'll implement this via Track/TakeFX_SetNamedConfigParm()
|
|
|
03-25-2023, 12:08 AM
|
#16
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin
We'll implement this via Track/TakeFX_SetNamedConfigParm()
|
Thank you!
|
|
|
03-26-2023, 03:43 AM
|
#17
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Added in the latest dev build. See my comment in that thread for more info.
|
|
|
05-16-2023, 05:28 AM
|
#18
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 66
|
Hello Justin, hello vitalker,
I have installed the 6.79 version and also the recent development builds.
But I have not yet been able to set the FX name of the first effect in the first track via the EEL2-API as follows:
Code:
project = 0;
trackIndex = 0;
effectIndex = 0;
track = GetTrack(project, trackIndex);
isOkay = TrackFX_SetNamedConfigParm(track, effectIndex, "fx_name", "test")
So I am missing something obvious. Any ideas?
Best regards,
DrTT
|
|
|
05-16-2023, 06:41 AM
|
#19
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrTT
Hello Justin, hello vitalker,
I have installed the 6.79 version and also the recent development builds.
But I have not yet been able to set the FX name of the first effect in the first track via the EEL2-API as follows:
Code:
project = 0;
trackIndex = 0;
effectIndex = 0;
track = GetTrack(project, trackIndex);
isOkay = TrackFX_SetNamedConfigParm(track, effectIndex, "fx_name", "test")
So I am missing something obvious. Any ideas?
Best regards,
DrTT
|
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...9&postcount=12
Not sure where did you get that "fx_name" argument.
Last edited by vitalker; 05-16-2023 at 06:58 AM.
|
|
|
05-16-2023, 07:20 AM
|
#20
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 66
|
Hello vitalker,
thanks for your quick response; it works as expected.
Since renamed_name was not quoted in the release notes, I hadn't thought
that this officially specifies the parameter name but instead just informally
stands for the the new name to be assigned.
So both "fx_name" and "renamed_name" are allowed as actual "parameter_name"
parameters for TrackFX_(G|S)etNamedConfigParam with slightly different
semantics (e.g. you cannot set the "fx_name" because it is read-only)?
Best regards,
DrTT
|
|
|
05-16-2023, 07:26 AM
|
#21
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12,819
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrTT
Hello vitalker,
thanks for your quick response; it works as expected.
Since renamed_name was not quoted in the release notes, I hadn't thought
that this officially specifies the parameter name but instead just informally
stands for the the new name to be assigned.
So both "fx_name" and "renamed_name" are allowed as actual "parameter_name"
parameters for TrackFX_(G|S)etNamedConfigParam with slightly different
semantics (e.g. you cannot set the "fx_name" because it is read-only)?
Best regards,
DrTT
|
I don't know why they didn't write it correctly, maybe because you still need to open documentation and will find out it is quoted.
By the way, X-Raym has a great documentation for ReaSript: https://extremraym.com/cloud/reascript-doc/
Yes, fx_name is a pre-aliased name and you can only read it. You can rename FX from FX browser like before.
You can also use GetFXName:
https://extremraym.com/cloud/reascri...ckFX_GetFXName
Last edited by vitalker; 05-16-2023 at 07:32 AM.
|
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 AM.
|