Old 05-12-2023, 12:56 AM   #1
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,057
Default Apple Silicon CLAP scan fails

Can anyone confirm issues with scanning CLAP plugins on Apple Silicon (M1, M2), or is this just me? This machine is running macOS 13.3.1.

I've checked permissions, etc. of the folders and the libraries, everything seems correct. But every plugin in the folder fails.



Strange is that I don't even have an option to rescan the failed files -- they are listed, but not scannable. Are there any logs or similar to help track down the problem?

Thank you!
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2023, 01:44 AM   #2
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,057
Default

Following up, clap-validator lists and validates the plugins. Bitwig scans and loads them, too.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2023, 10:22 AM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,854
Default

any chance they are x86_64 versions of the plug-ins?

Can you confirm what you posted in the other thread that 6.79 loads these plug-ins correctly?

Quote:
Strange is that I don't even have an option to rescan the failed files
We need to implement that...

Last edited by Justin; 05-13-2023 at 10:30 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2023, 10:35 AM   #4
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
any chance they are x86_64 versions of the plug-ins?

Can you confirm what you posted in the other thread that 6.79 loads these plug-ins correctly?


We need to implement that...
Yes, it's only a problem with pre-releases, sorry to not follow up here about it. The release version works fine. Tale found the first problematic pre, I think.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2023, 11:02 AM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockmonkey72 View Post
Yes, it's only a problem with pre-releases, sorry to not follow up here about it. The release version works fine. Tale found the first problematic pre, I think.
Can you doublecheck which +dev build was the first with the problem? Thank you
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2023, 05:32 PM   #6
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Can you doublecheck which +dev build was the first with the problem? Thank you
I can confirm that 0424 is successfully scanning, and that 0427+ is failing.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2023, 05:33 AM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockmonkey72 View Post
I can confirm that 0424 is successfully scanning, and that 0427+ is failing.
Edit: thanks -- fixing, sorry, totally stupid error on our part!

Last edited by Justin; 05-14-2023 at 05:43 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2023, 05:43 AM   #8
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Is one a portable install or any other differences? It's really difficult to see why this would be.
No, it's a bog-standard install in my case. The plugins have the correct architectures, the folder and file permissions look good. And, it works perfectly fine if I revert the executable to 0424 or earlier without changing any other variables.

I just tried on my Intel machine, which exhibits the same behavior, so it's not AS-specific (as Tale's Rosetta test would also imply). It sees the directory and counts the available plugins, it just fails to validate all of them.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2023, 05:46 AM   #9
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Edit: thanks -- fixing, sorry, totally stupid error on our part!
Sweet, thanks!
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.