Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2023, 08:32 AM   #1
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,849
Default V7 Containers & API - Lost automation

Moving FX that has automation inside/outside Container via reaper.TrackFX_CopyToTrack results deleted automation.

Steps:
1. Create Container
2. Add ReaEQ in container
3. Write some automation on ReaEQ

Execute:
Code:
local track = reaper.GetTrack(0,0)
FX_ID = 0x2000000 + 1 + (reaper.TrackFX_GetCount(track) + 1)
reaper.TrackFX_CopyToTrack( track, FX_ID, track, -1000, true )
EDIT: After this hitting undo Container has BYPASS automation written to it


EDIT2: Copy also does not transfer automation created
Code:
reaper.TrackFX_CopyToTrack( track, FX_ID, track, -1000, false)

Last edited by Sexan; 10-29-2023 at 08:48 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2023, 08:48 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,126
Default

That is understandable -- FX in containers can't have automation, so the automation belongs to the container. Having it end up as bypass automation is a bug, looking into that.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2023, 08:51 AM   #3
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,849
Default

Ah ok. Thanks for info
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2023, 09:04 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,126
Default

(we could maybe try to map it back, I suppose, but ugh)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2023, 11:52 AM   #5
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,304
Default

very important.
This is absolutely necessary to keep/copy automation envelopes from and to containers I was actually sure it does it intuitively.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2023, 01:57 PM   #6
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,304
Default

any news with this one?
I keep doing the same mistake over and over again --> losing the automations when moving fx from containers
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.