![]() |
#1 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,523
|
![]()
After updating REAPER (to any version?) you can not add JS effects through API.
This returns -1: Code:
reaper.TrackFX_AddByName(track, 'JS:Distortion', 0, -1) Tested on Linux.
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update Utility Lil Chordbox Gridbox/Adaptive grid MX Tuner RS5K Link MIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi Last edited by FeedTheCat; 11-24-2023 at 08:11 AM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,949
|
![]()
Yeah since you need to build the database first (which is triggered by ADD FX")
Been like this forever.
__________________
My Scripts and ReaPack link | Virtual Tracks (ProTools Playlist/TrackVersions) | 🛸Area(51) Selection LUA Script | 🍝ReaSpaghetti Visual Scripter | 👻ParaNormal FX Router | 🥧 Pie Menu 3000 | ►Donation PayPal ☕️Ko-fi |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,523
|
![]()
Hmm, so what's the workaround? Running "View: Show FX browser window" twice?
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update Utility Lil Chordbox Gridbox/Adaptive grid MX Tuner RS5K Link MIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,949
|
![]()
Maybe you can call EnumerateFX? maybe that will trigger rescan also
__________________
My Scripts and ReaPack link | Virtual Tracks (ProTools Playlist/TrackVersions) | 🛸Area(51) Selection LUA Script | 🍝ReaSpaghetti Visual Scripter | 👻ParaNormal FX Router | 🥧 Pie Menu 3000 | ►Donation PayPal ☕️Ko-fi |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,523
|
![]()
Thanks, that works!
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update Utility Lil Chordbox Gridbox/Adaptive grid MX Tuner RS5K Link MIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,949
|
![]()
Oh nice! Was just a hunch since my script does that on startup (in order to populate its internal FX BROWSER) and does not suffer from this issue
EDIT: But beware of very long fx list it will take a while... (I do caching after first run). I guess checking if jsfx.ini is populated in your case is the best solution here
__________________
My Scripts and ReaPack link | Virtual Tracks (ProTools Playlist/TrackVersions) | 🛸Area(51) Selection LUA Script | 🍝ReaSpaghetti Visual Scripter | 👻ParaNormal FX Router | 🥧 Pie Menu 3000 | ►Donation PayPal ☕️Ko-fi |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 | |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,523
|
![]() Quote:
Code:
local fx = reaper.TrackFX_AddByName(track, name, is_input, instantiate) if fx < 0 then reaper.EnumInstalledFX(0) fx = reaper.TrackFX_AddByName(track, name, is_input, instantiate) end
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update Utility Lil Chordbox Gridbox/Adaptive grid MX Tuner RS5K Link MIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,949
|
![]()
BTW EnumerateFX is V7 exclusive api
__________________
My Scripts and ReaPack link | Virtual Tracks (ProTools Playlist/TrackVersions) | 🛸Area(51) Selection LUA Script | 🍝ReaSpaghetti Visual Scripter | 👻ParaNormal FX Router | 🥧 Pie Menu 3000 | ►Donation PayPal ☕️Ko-fi |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,223
|
![]()
Two related things here:
1) the JS finding by filename is/was case-sensitive on Linux but not on other OSes. Changing this. 2) generating the JSFX name/filename translation cache is/was done on demand rather than at startup. Changing this too. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,523
|
![]()
Great, thanks!
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update Utility Lil Chordbox Gridbox/Adaptive grid MX Tuner RS5K Link MIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#11 |
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,572
|
![]()
Can you please also add a feature to rename JSFX from FX browser like other plugin formats do? Primary for #hiding purpose because now there is no easy and fast way to temporarily hide some JSFX.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
|
|