Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2024, 05:13 AM   #1
baconpaul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Default Linux Clap `gui.request_resize` behavior differs from VST3

Hi!

I'm noticing a difference with `gui.request_resize` on the CLAP implementation in linux. I'm working with the shortcircuit wrapper which translates clap calls into VST3 so I can compare an equivalent VST3 and CLAP implementation. Ubuntu 22.04, whichever version I downloaded yesterday of reaper!

The problem quite simply is `request_resize` in CLAP generates a call to setSize which is the old size not the new size. Whereas the VST3 does not. It's almost like in the call to request_resize implementation on linux you use the current size not the passed in argument!

Here's what I see in my log for my VST3

```
clients/clap-first/scxt-plugin/scxt-plugin.cpp:81 [09:38:55.238] On Zoom Changed with 1.25 - requesting resize of 1482.5x1020
helpers/src/sst/clap_juce_shim/clap_juce_shim_impl.cpp:115 guiSetSize W=1482 H=1020
```

and here's what I see for my CLAP

```
clients/clap-first/scxt-plugin/scxt-plugin.cpp:81 [09:36:30.459] On Zoom Changed with 1.25 - requesting resize of 1482.5x1020
/home/paul/dev/shortcircuit-xt/libs/sst/sst-clap-helpers/src/sst/clap_juce_shim/clap_juce_shim_impl.cpp:115 guiSetSize W=948 H=652
```

which was the 'prior' size.

The CLAP wrapper in the VST3 context turns the request_resize into `Steinberg::IPlugFrame::resizeView'.

In bitwig and ardour on linux the clap resizes without problem.

Thanks for taking a look at this and please let me know if you have any questions.
baconpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2024, 05:42 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,247
Default

Fixing, thanks. What happens presently is that the passed-in dimensions are ignored and clap_plugin_gui::get_size() is called instead. The issue is not linux-specific.

Last edited by schwa; 08-14-2024 at 05:48 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2024, 05:57 AM   #3
baconpaul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Fixing, thanks. What happens presently is that the passed-in dimensions are ignored and clap_plugin_gui::get_size() is called instead. The issue is not linux-specific.
Yeah I figured it was something akin to that. Thanks for the quick response!
baconpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.