Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 10:35 PM   #1
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default FX Chains Get it while the getting is good!

Greetings fellow Reaperites.

Today I learned about a killer feature involving FXChains (you know that
folder in your Reaper Directory?!)). It turns out that if you Organize your
FX into FXChain Presets, they will display as such when you right-click and
FXslot in the mixer and mouse over Add Fx Chain.

Some of the smarter reaper users have been doing this for a
while - I was turned on to it by Mercado_Negro.

Then I started thinking... It would be great if Reaper installed
some defaults, when users elect to install all of those many, many JS plugins. I
have heard that something like that may be in the works for the future,
but as impatient as I am... well I did it manually and now I'll share it
with you.

The link below is to a zipped version of the FXChains folder. Download it
and merge it with yours, or cut an paste from it into your current FXChains
folder. Ever default Cockos VST and JS Effect has been turned into an
FXChain, and organized in sensible folders (if you can think of more
sensible placements please let me know and I'll update it).

I find this comes in extremely handy when my reaper is arranged in a
pseudo-inspector way.

Here's the file: https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/150574/FXChains.zip



You can use this as a springboard to organizing your other FX and goto Chains.

enjoy!
.tallis

special thanks to Mercado_Negro and Xenakios for helping to proof read all
this, and the Rest of the chaps on the Reaper chat for the moral support...
reaper has a boatload of fx.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"

Last edited by Tallisman; 04-26-2009 at 10:40 PM.
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 10:54 PM   #2
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,073
Default

I just came here to show my respect for that amazing work you were doing this afternoon Tallis... Ladies and Gentleman, enjoy another achievement from Tallisman, let's give him an HOOOORAY!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:15 PM   #3
junioreq
Human being with feelings
 
junioreq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 1,091
Default

Excellent work, I was wondering what you had been talking about for hours lol, btw, I tried flotting that fly off my screen!

Awesome.!

Rob.
junioreq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:51 PM   #4
battla
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 220
Default

killer. superb.
battla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:53 AM   #5
WorldofNoise
Human being with feelings
 
WorldofNoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Buffa-love, NY
Posts: 96
Default

This is brilliant, and you are pretty much the best person ever for putting it together.

THANK YOU!!!
WorldofNoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:18 AM   #6
Wolffman
Human being with feelings
 
Wolffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Down Under
Posts: 2,059
Default

Very Cool!!!!
Many thanks for sharing your work

Cheers
__________________
" Serve the song "

https://soundcloud.com/wolffman7
Wolffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:25 AM   #7
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 904
Default

Great stuff Tallisman!

Cheers
Jed
__________________
Jeds Music:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Stratguy10
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:34 AM   #8
ed209
Human being with feelings
 
ed209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 705
Default

Thank you very much! It's great to have the JS organized!
ed209 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:42 AM   #9
MichaJo
Human being with feelings
 
MichaJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,767
Default

Never saw this before. Didn't even know that it could be organized that way!
Great! Thanks a lot!

Michael
MichaJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:48 AM   #10
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,450
Default

.tallis,

Nice work
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:50 AM   #11
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 7,347
Default

Thanks Tal for the effort, I've been doing it that way for a long time myself for my main fx to speed up the workflow, I never put the whole cockos structure in there though...must have been some work! I'll d/l and check it out, thanks again.

edit: yep, real useful...cheers!
__________________
The media are misleading the public about Syria:
https://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/...tcK/story.html

Last edited by Bevosss; 04-27-2009 at 01:57 AM.
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 02:46 AM   #12
Silicon/Silicium
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 212
Default

Just a question, why not letting chains for what they are (I mean, chains), and instead having a second menu with plugin folders displayed? that, and the option to build a tree from the physical folder tree of your vst folder could be excellent, and keep chains for what they are: templates of multiple plugins chained together.
For those who know buzzmachines, just have a look on it's right click menu to insert a machine!
Silicon/Silicium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 03:13 AM   #13
NoiseMan
Human being with feelings
 
NoiseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 522
Default

Tallisman, my hero of the day!

I still hate you for that damn ant that tricks me at least once a week...
NoiseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 03:26 AM   #14
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,619
Default

Great work. We get just a boatload of plugins, don't we.

If that ain't gonna inspire Cockos to pull off something cooler, I don't know what will.

I've started adding my own effects and synths to this scheme, so I don't forget about them .
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 04:04 AM   #15
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,026
Default

Tres aw3s0m3
__________________
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 04:52 AM   #16
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,028
Default

Great, thanks for the job!

Now we need a "global" FXChains folder right in Reapers own dir, in addition to the one under (on Win) "Application Data" (that took me ages to find!)
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 05:04 AM   #17
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
Great, thanks for the job!

Now we need a "global" FXChains folder right in Reapers own dir, in addition to the one under (on Win) "Application Data" (that took me ages to find!)
-1, it's is the right place at the moment, alongside the other data used by Reaper.

But, I think I recall that you can move the complete contents of the Application Data folder into the folder where the Reaper program is (try at your own risk).
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=30796
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)

Last edited by DarkStar; 04-27-2009 at 05:07 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 05:15 AM   #18
HoJo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 167
Default Excellent!

Hey Tallisman.

Thanks for the effort. I think this will speed up my work a lot.

Kind Regards,
HoJo
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 05:36 AM   #19
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
-1, it's is the right place at the moment, alongside the other data used by Reaper.
But if this was shipped with Reaper, how would it be installed if not in a "global" FXChains folder?

IIRC, Reaper does not install anything in any user dir, it only stores things there on the users demand, right? So to have FX-chains shipped with a Reaper installation, a global FXChains dir would seem to be required... not?

Remember, Talli said "It would be great if Reaper installed some defaults, when users elect to install all of those many, many JS plugins." Those JS plugins are not installed under "<user>\Application Data\Reaper", why should the shipped FX-chains be?
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 06:48 AM   #20
larrygates
Human being with feelings
 
larrygates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,931
Default

Interesting thing here, this negates the need for Favorites (which are retarded) and also going into the FX list which is like reading the Bible with no punctuation.

This is much quicker, BUT it'll take forEVER to save and sort all of one's plugs. Is there a way to do it OUTside of Reaper?

Also, what happens when you change a VST folder, update a VST etc . . .

I think it'll act just like the favorites, and have no idea where the file is.

I suppose what I'm getting at is, Reaper should READ the VST .dll file, sort it according to what it gives back, and THIS should be standard, cause hunting for my fx is annoying and not very Work Flowey!
larrygates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 10:01 PM   #21
Guido
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 674
Default

Another superb and generous contribution from THE MAN! Thank You Thank You Thank You!





Guido
Guido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 10:09 PM   #22
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

thanks for the kind words folks...
and many thanks to those on the irc that helped with organization and morale
:P

greetings
.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 11:32 PM   #23
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 4,193
Default

Nice work, this will save me a lot of time.

What isn't nice work, however, is that it took me ten minutes to find my FXChain folder because Vista has Reaper data in three different places other than the Program Files folder. Grrr.....
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 04:05 AM   #24
g8torcliff
Human being with feelings
 
g8torcliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,481
Default Thanks

Thanks for a really nice addition to the Reaper setup. Your idea prompted me to go a step further. I created actual FX chains as part of the extended menu...not just the FX listing.

For example, I had recorded a song which had some sax VST which I thought I had tweaked just right ... so it actually sounded like a sax. I saved the fx on the track as an FX chain and put it in the Sax directory in my fx chain folder. Now it shows up under the extended menu. Whenever I put a sax VST into a song, I can just r-click over to 'sax' in the menu and all of the tweaked effects are put onto the track. I don't know if its any easier than just 'add an FX chain', but it looks a lot nicer.

Now I have done the same for different sounding vocals, other tweaked VST's, etc.

Thanks for the idea.

cliff
g8torcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 06:16 AM   #25
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20,846
Default

That is really, really cool. I downloaded it when Mercado Negro posted it in another thread. Big props.

This begs the question... why not have that as optional during the install for the default plugs. There are lots of plugs listed in Mercado's that I don't have and many that I do have that he doesn't have so his list on my system requires LOTS of editing.

I'd have to add my new ones (and delete his) anyway but if the default structure just had the Cockos and JS and nothing else... that might be cool as a general starting point.

Or is that what this new one from Tallis is? Just the Reaper plugs?

I was going to create a VB utility to automatically scan plugin directories and create those other directories, or custom directories and then the chain files inside them but the files are binary, not plain text so no go.
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".

Last edited by Lawrence; 04-29-2009 at 06:20 AM.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 06:22 AM   #26
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrence View Post
That is really, really cool. I downloaded it when Mercado Negro posted it in another thread. Big props.

This begs the question... why not have that as optional during the install for the default plugs. There are lots of plugs listed in Mercado's that I don't have and many that I do have that he doesn't have so his list on my system requires LOTS of editing.

I'd have to add my new ones (and delete his) anyway but if the default structure just had the Cockos and JS and nothing else... that might be cool as a general starting point.

Or is that what this new one from Tallis is? Just the Reaper plugs?
It's only ReaPlugs and JS Effects + some other goodies

This will be addressed soon Lawrence, for v3.x things are probably gonna change: user friendly... a little bird sang a song I'm full of patience, I'm sure y'all are too
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:40 AM   #27
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Thanx for that. Really cool and useful.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 03:37 PM   #28
sonicbreeze
Human being with feelings
 
sonicbreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Default

Thanks a lot Tallisman...for your great effort to share this.

You gave me another reason to use Reaper as my DAW of choice. Now you got me started to make folders/chains with non Reaper Plugs too. GREAT...
sonicbreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 03:41 PM   #29
livedead13
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 503
Default

this is extremely helpful. thanks for doing this tedious task and sharing with the rest of us.
livedead13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 10:10 PM   #30
CoffeeMilkshake
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 501
Default

@Pete, Talis, Mercado and all the "FX Chain hackers": Thanks!

@Pete: not to hijack or derail, but are you using a UC??? How cool! What's your first impressions?
__________________
Reaper registered user - proudly, may I add :)
CoffeeMilkshake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:37 PM   #31
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Standing Alone View Post
I know this seems long winded but on a system that has 400 plugins this will be a lot faster than individually inserting plugins one by one and naming and saving single FXchains for them.

Hope this was useful!
Now that IS a workaround!
It's almost like you're a DAW developer yourself

Thanks!

PS: Thanks to Mercado_Negro and Tallisman also.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 02:58 PM   #32
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Pete that is killer.

now that I have wiped the tears of frustration from my eyes, and recovered from that first expedition, I can go on and with ease do the rest.
thanks.


very happy am I!

.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:57 AM   #33
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Standing Alone View Post
The filenames for the individual plugins are coming out with an extra DX or VST at the start, and if you look closely, a space at the end before the file extension.
Before you run the Splitter, I think you could open the .rfxchain in Notepad and remove the unwanted characters.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 05:44 PM   #34
jimhm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default FX Chains with Vista

Thanks again, T'man, for the fine resource. I'm just starting with REAPER (had it about a week) and continually amazed at the power and flexibility of the package (especially for the price!)

Your FXChains setup sounds great, but I haven't been able to map the file/folder layout to my Vista environment. I'm hoping one of the commentators in this thread can help me out.

In the REAPER folder under Program Files there's an Effects folder that has pretty much the same lineup of sub-folders as your FXChain folder: Amp-Sims, Analyzers, Bass, etc. However I don't find a folder called FXChains anywhere. I gathered from some of the postings that REAPER also sets up a folder tree in Application Data under one's user folder (in Documents and Settings) but there is no such tree in Vista.

If anyone reading this thread is running Vista and can point me to the Vista equivalent of the per-user REAPER folder's contents I'd sure appreciate hearing from you.

I'm certainly learning a lot very quickly from these forums.
jimhm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 12:23 AM   #35
TeeBlack
Human being with feelings
 
TeeBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Default

thanks homie
__________________
I Make Beats!
TeeBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 08:56 AM   #36
StepOne
Human being with feelings
 
StepOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimhm View Post
Thanks again, T'man, for the fine resource. I'm just starting with REAPER (had it about a week) and continually amazed at the power and flexibility of the package (especially for the price!)

Your FXChains setup sounds great, but I haven't been able to map the file/folder layout to my Vista environment. I'm hoping one of the commentators in this thread can help me out.

In the REAPER folder under Program Files there's an Effects folder that has pretty much the same lineup of sub-folders as your FXChain folder: Amp-Sims, Analyzers, Bass, etc. However I don't find a folder called FXChains anywhere. I gathered from some of the postings that REAPER also sets up a folder tree in Application Data under one's user folder (in Documents and Settings) but there is no such tree in Vista.

If anyone reading this thread is running Vista and can point me to the Vista equivalent of the per-user REAPER folder's contents I'd sure appreciate hearing from you.

I'm certainly learning a lot very quickly from these forums.
Under Windows 7 (Vista too, probably?), its under User > AppData > Roaming
__________________
Damn it feels good to be a gangsta.
StepOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:17 AM   #37
sceyefeye
Human being with feelings
 
sceyefeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 327
Default

@mercado
thanks for starting this and sending Tallisman on his adventure
@tallis
thanks for giving the basic start this is brillinat
@pete
excellent resource there (poor mac users ) has helped get things into place

now just gotta put in those other js plugs and stuff that i have downloaded and not used cause I can never be bothered to get organised

RESPECT to all of you
sceyefeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 04:42 PM   #38
Hector
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default New features for text file splitter

I'm the creator of that text file splitter that is mentioned above. If you look at the bottom of the program, you'll notice a request feature link. You could request features there.

I'd be more than happy to work with the good people on this forum to add features to help you split out the plug-in chains, and find ways to fix the file names.

Feel free to post on my forums over at http://www.systemwidgets.com

Hector Sosa, Jr
SystemWidgets
Hector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 11:59 PM   #39
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Thanks Tallis!

Hi Hector, thanks for your efforts too!
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 07:15 PM   #40
Staccato
Human being with feelings
 
Staccato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coos Bay, OR
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
Greetings fellow Reaperites.

Today I learned about a killer feature involving FXChains (you know that
folder in your Reaper Directory?!)). It turns out that if you Organize your
FX into FXChain Presets, they will display as such when you right-click and
FXslot in the mixer and mouse over Add Fx Chain.

Some of the smarter reaper users have been doing this for a
while - I was turned on to it by Mercado_Negro.

Then I started thinking... It would be great if Reaper installed
some defaults, when users elect to install all of those many, many JS plugins. I
have heard that something like that may be in the works for the future,
but as impatient as I am... well I did it manually and now I'll share it
with you.

The link below is to a zipped version of the FXChains folder. Download it
and merge it with yours, or cut an paste from it into your current FXChains
folder. Ever default Cockos VST and JS Effect has been turned into an
FXChain, and organized in sensible folders (if you can think of more
sensible placements please let me know and I'll update it).

I find this comes in extremely handy when my reaper is arranged in a
pseudo-inspector way.

Here's the file: https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/150574/FXChains.zip



You can use this as a springboard to organizing your other FX and goto Chains.

enjoy!
.tallis

special thanks to Mercado_Negro and Xenakios for helping to proof read all
this, and the Rest of the chaps on the Reaper chat for the moral support...
reaper has a boatload of fx.
And here I thought you were a smarter Reaper user!
__________________
Playback's A Bitch
Staccato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.