Old 06-22-2009, 11:28 PM   #1
jnastic
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper 3 and Boot Camp

I'd like to use Reaper 3 with my MacBook Pro 13" in Boot Camp (Windows XP). This would allow me to use my collection of VST and VSTi.

Are Windows and Reaper in Boot Camp as good or better than on a regular PC ? How about latency and driver compatibility ?

Will I have any issues that I'd like to know about ? I'm new to the Mac OSX world.

Thank you for your answers.
jnastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
yerbouti

I've tried once and haven't had any trouble.

"Are Windows and Reaper in Boot Camp as good or better than on a regular PC ? How about latency and driver compatibility ?"

Performance should be the same as on a regular PC. Note that you won't be 3 able to use more then 3gb of ram unless you install a 64bit version of winXP (which I wouldn't recommend) or windows vista (which I really wouldn't recommend).
As for drivers compatibility, there once was an issue with bootcamp and some firewire cards but it seems to be pretty much resolved now. Otherwise, you will get the same drivers issues that you would get on a regular PC.

(sorry for my english, not my native language)
yerbouti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 05:20 AM   #3
Jones Gloomy

Used Reaper that way for a while. Everything worked fine, exept my soundcard (mackie onyx satellite) but i guess it was some driver issues.

Also like yerbouti said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by yerbouti View Post
Note that you won't be 3 able to use more then 3gb of ram unless you install a 64bit version of winXP (which I wouldn't recommend) or windows vista (which I really wouldn't recommend).
As for drivers compa

Was also one reason i switched back to mac. But otherwise no problems whit it.

www.virb.com/jonesgloomy
Jones Gloomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 11:47 AM   #4
dupont

switch to imac one year ago and window XP SP3 under bootcamp.