Old 06-25-2009, 11:06 AM   #1
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default Any x64 users out there?

I've got betas of my plugins for what should become version 1.60.00...they're available at:

http://downloads.stillwellaudio.com/stillwell/beta/

There are x86 AND, for the first time, x64 versions of all my plugins (schwa beat me to the punch coming out with the first x64 versions of any plugs on our site, but I'm catching up...)

Please post any good or bad feedback on OUR forums, not here. Use the following link to post feedback:

http://www.stillwellaudio.com/forums...php?f=22&t=487

For the moment, don't refer to these on KVR or the like...I'm slowly expanding the beta universe, and would just as soon not get flamed over there if the plugs aren't ready for primetime.

That being said, I think they're pretty doggone stable and ready to go.

Thanks!

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 12:21 PM   #2
Finnish
Human being with feelings
 
Finnish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Kuopio
Posts: 910
Default

Right on time!!!

I jumped to x64-boat two days ago (XP Pro 64), and I've been looking for good plugs in the 64-realm. I also checked JBridge and thought of your plugs etc..

Way to go, really really good news!
__________________
REGISTERED USER
My music, studio and bands
Finnish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:19 PM   #3
Bubbagump
Human being with feelings
 
Bubbagump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,024
Default

What makes 1.60.00 specialer than 1.52?
__________________
www.theslang.com
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:21 PM   #4
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

Errr...read the thread on our site?

Visual Studio 2008 instead of 2005.

New version of NSIS installer (which has nothing to do with the plugins, but may help when trying to INSTALL them on some machines).

x64-ness.

No code changes, per se.

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:25 PM   #5
Bubbagump
Human being with feelings
 
Bubbagump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,024
Default

For other dopes such as myself.

http://www.stillwellaudio.com/forums...php?f=22&t=487
__________________
www.theslang.com
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:28 PM   #6
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default








and again
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 02:41 PM   #7
norbury brook
Human being with feelings
 
norbury brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 2,834
Default

I'll give them a whirl this week, I'm just working out a full windows 7 64 rig but at the moment I'm running the 32 bit version of reaper/Cubase 5.

If J bridge works with BFD/RMX/Omnisphere then I might start using the 64 bit versions.Just need some testing time


Marcus
norbury brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 02:48 PM   #8
Anomaly
Human being with feelings
 
Anomaly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Default

It's good that x64 is getting more support, and allowing people to upgrade their systems.
But I have to ask what might be the problem that rocket x64 cpu usage is nearly 2x compared to the 32-bit version?
cheers
Anomaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 02:51 PM   #9
Bubbagump
Human being with feelings
 
Bubbagump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,024
Default

Do you have oversampling (decadence) turned on by mistake perhaps?
__________________
www.theslang.com
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:09 PM   #10
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

I'm not seeing double the usage, but I AM seeing a difference on this Athlon 64 X2 4400+ machine using the same project with Rocket in the same position in each project of 1.5% on 32-bit, 1.9% on 64-bit with default settings.

There are quite literally no code changes between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions, so I'm going to have to look at compiler optimization to see what I can do to improve matters.

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:55 PM   #11
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,403
Default

really great news Scott!
I will put them all through their paces tonight!

wooo hooo!

greetings.
.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 09:21 PM   #12
BlackBart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Default

Other than GUI, what's the different between these, and the JS plugins which come with Reaper x64?
BlackBart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 09:22 PM   #13
BlackBart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by norbury brook View Post
I'll give them a whirl this week, I'm just working out a full windows 7 64 rig but at the moment I'm running the 32 bit version of reaper/Cubase 5.

If J bridge works with BFD/RMX/Omnisphere then I might start using the 64 bit versions.Just need some testing time


Marcus
RMX is now 64 bit! Works great with Reaper x64.
BlackBart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:45 PM   #14
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
really great news Scott!
I will put them all through their paces tonight!

wooo hooo!

greetings.
.t
yo, t-dog. enjoy!

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:33 AM   #15
norbury brook
Human being with feelings
 
norbury brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 2,834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBart View Post
RMX is now 64 bit! Works great with Reaper x64.
Really, I must pay more attention


Marcus
norbury brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:46 AM   #16
Anomaly
Human being with feelings
 
Anomaly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Default

Ok, I should update my comment concerning cpu usage. I was comparing the older version of rocket to the latest version.
These are the readings when running "heavy vibes" preset @96k

Rocket 32-bit 1.52.3.0 --> 1.8%-2.1%
Rocket 32-bit 1.60 --> 3.5%-3.6%
Rocket 64-bit 1.60 --> 3.9%

I apologize that I didn't post to the stillwell forums.
cheers
Anomaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 07:38 AM   #17
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sstillwell View Post
I'm not seeing double the usage, but I AM seeing a difference on this Athlon 64 X2 4400+ machine using the same project with Rocket in the same position in each project of 1.5% on 32-bit, 1.9% on 64-bit with default settings.

There are quite literally no code changes between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions, so I'm going to have to look at compiler optimization to see what I can do to improve matters.

Scott
Okay...some optimization settings got whacked when I moved from VS2005 to 2008. After resetting them, I went from the 1.5/1.9% listed above to 0.8/0.7%. x64 is now marginally faster than x86, and they're both now in line with their previous performance...maybe a little faster. Whee!

I'll have updated builds posted later today...I'll leave another message when they're ready.

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 07:54 AM   #18
willowhaus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 504
Default

Sweet! I haven't booted my x64 partition in a long time...this is as good an excuse as any, though!
willowhaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 09:35 AM   #19
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

Builds have been updated on the same URL, just download and reinstall. Should be a significant performance increase over last builds, and possibly even over previous released versions.

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 04:00 PM   #20
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,528
Default

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ --- The Rocket (x86)

Before: 2.8% - Decadence ON: 5.4%

NOW!!!! -> 1.4% - Decadence ON: 2.3%

WOW! Thank you very much Scott!

__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 04:03 PM   #21
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

Is that comparing to the previous 1.60 build, or the current 1.52 production build? I think I know the answer, but I can hope, can't I?



Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 04:18 PM   #22
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,528
Default

Previous 1.60 build... with current 1.52 build there's a 0.01% of improvement but hey it's cool too! any improvement is welcome here!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway

Last edited by Mercado_Negro; 06-26-2009 at 04:20 PM.
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 04:20 PM   #23
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

That's what I thought it was...oh, well.

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 09:45 PM   #24
WorksInTheory
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Sorry if I am bringing us all back by asking this but

1) Are these already included with Reaper 3.04?
2) What is the benefit of Windows 7 over X64 Vista? I have Windows Vista 64 laptop and resting Reaper 3.04 X64 and want to test these plugins too. Didn't want to download them if they were included already and also didn't know if I should try to upgrade to 7 and test X64 in that.

Thanks!
WorksInTheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 09:58 PM   #25
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorksInTheory View Post
Sorry if I am bringing us all back by asking this but

1) Are these already included with Reaper 3.04?
Stillwell's VST plugins are not included with Reaper, they are a completely different product line by another company...(It just happens Stillwell did do some JS plugins for Reaper which eventually evolved into to the VST/AU plugins.)
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:11 AM   #26
WorksInTheory
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Default Stillwell Audio Plugin Descriptions

Who the heck writes those descriptions for the Stillwell plugins?...

...cos I love them! They tell you what it does but in a funny way and gets you all excited. Now the reality is in the practice and I am not that good in mixing right now but that was fun to read through!
WorksInTheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 05:58 PM   #27
sstillwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,558
Default

Anybody actually try the x64 versions yet? I'm running out of fingernails to bite...

Scott
__________________
https://www.stillwellaudio.com/
sstillwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 06:40 PM   #28
WorksInTheory
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sstillwell View Post
Anybody actually try the x64 versions yet? I'm running out of fingernails to bite...

Scott
sorry I was trying to get to testing them for you but I have just been having issue with setting up Reaper and my Firestudio Project with Windows Vista x64. Gotta get past that first but then I hope to test these out!
WorksInTheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 01:26 AM   #29
Anomaly
Human being with feelings
 
Anomaly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Default

Rocket, Vibe-eq and 1973 seem to be working fine here. Cpu usage is fine too.
Anomaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 01:29 AM   #30
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sstillwell View Post
Anybody actually try the x64 versions yet? I'm running out of fingernails to bite...

Scott
I am having issues but not with your contributions to the x64 set-up.
the Jbridge is giving me issue and some of the bridged 32 bit plugins.

I hope to do more soon, and I'll keep you posted.

greetings
.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.