Old 11-09-2009, 09:31 AM   #1
flmason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 642
Default ReaFIR and Latency?

Hi All,
I find the ReaFIR to be an awesome EQ device. Gives me fantastic lattitude in making cheap mics sound way better.

Problem is, latency. When actually trying to say, sing and record through it, it sounds like the DAW is on Demerol or something, LOL!

Suffice to say, it makes it difficult to try and track that way.

To date I just use some other EQ and the go back and apply ReaFIR...

But, it would be nice if it could be used straight away.

Anyone know the story on this?

It's the only EQ I have that does this, and it's also the only EQ flexible enough for what I need/want to do!
flmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 09:38 AM   #2
TimOBrien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,301
Default

Latency is caused by the processing in a soundcard and its drivers.

What are you using (if its a 40cent onboard, that's your reason...)
TimOBrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 09:41 AM   #3
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimOBrien View Post
Latency is caused by the processing in a soundcard and its drivers.
+ latency compensation for plug-in processing, he's monitoring
through Reaper, not directly from soundcard.
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 09:53 AM   #4
flmason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 642
Default

I'm a little unsure of those explanations...

Here's why. I tried ReaFIR in Tracktion (Mackie) which has latency compensation.

The DAW was set for 256 samples and a 5.8 ms latency. That I can live with, and any other EQ I have including the one included with Tracktion can be sung through without problematic latency.

On the other hand ReaFIR causes an effect somewhat like being in slow motion.

For whatever reasons though, it doesn't seen to cause a discernable issue when applying it to tracks already recorded. Just seems to be something that messes you up while trying to record.

For some reason, ReaFIR is causing or experiencing an issue that other latency compensated plugins aren't experiencing.

(Well, with the exception of some other brands of noise reduction plugins I've tried, and the SIR convolution plugin.)
flmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:08 AM   #5
flmason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimOBrien View Post
Latency is caused by the processing in a soundcard and its drivers.

What are you using (if its a 40cent onboard, that's your reason...)
Using a Line 6 UX1 with ASIO driver.
flmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:11 AM   #6
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Well actually, the problem is that FFT processing has a size of 4096
by default in ReaFIR, that causes Reaper to delay compensate for
4136 samples. Change that value to 512 for example, you won't
see the spectrum properly and sound will be a bit worse, but you
can change it back after recording.

e
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:16 AM   #7
flmason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM View Post
Well actually, the problem is that FFT processing has a size of 4096
by default in ReaFIR, that causes Reaper to delay compensate for
4136 samples. Change that value to 512 for example, you won't
see the spectrum properly and sound will be a bit worse, but you
can change it back after recording.

e
Good to know. I'll give that a shot. :-)

Have to admit, I don't know enough about how FFT is implemented to understand why the FFT sizes would affect sound quality (vrs. just required processing power), but should be an interesting experiment.
flmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:32 AM   #8
flmason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM View Post
Well actually, the problem is that FFT processing has a size of 4096
by default in ReaFIR, that causes Reaper to delay compensate for
4136 samples. Change that value to 512 for example, you won't
see the spectrum properly and sound will be a bit worse, but you
can change it back after recording.

e
Thanks much!

The answer was right under my nose the whole time, LOL!

1024 seems to give a decent compromise. :-D

Reaper rocks.

Thanks again. :-)
flmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2020, 03:36 PM   #9
finger_picker
Human being with feelings
 
finger_picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 5
Default Eleven years later

11 Years later, and this post really helped me out with my digital piano latency!.... thanks....
finger_picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.