Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 06:53 AM   #1
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default Allow armed toolbar buttons to survive "undo" and preference to keep standard cursors

Currently if you arm a toolbar button, do a bunch of work, then hit undo, the toolbar button unarms. It's a bit of a pain to have to go back and rearm it to keep working any time I have to undo. I feel like it should be default for an armed toolbar button to survive an undo, but if we have to make it a preference then it should definitely be there.

The other thing is that when you have a toolbar button armed, you lose the standard cursors. So for example, I can't hover my mouse over an item edge and see the "Trim" cursor or "Fade" cursor to know where to perform those functions, because I am stuck with the "Pointer with an A" cursor for the armed toolbar button. I understand with some things you should probably be able to tell that you have it armed via cursor, but for a lot of other things, it just means people have to guess while performing other edits with the button armed. So a global preference for "Use armed cursor when toolbar buttons are armed" makes a lot of sense to me, or alternatively a checkbox in the menu editor per toolbar button, depending on if you want the armed cursor or not for that function.

Vote for keeping standard trim/fade/item vol/time stretch/etc cursors here:
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=2428
Confirm "undo" survival bug here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=57198

Last edited by AdamWathan; 05-04-2010 at 09:59 AM.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 07:32 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,371
Default

Gotta agree with that. +1
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 11:50 AM   #3
vinx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France
Posts: 711
Default

+1 here !
vinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 05:16 AM   #4
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Bump, this could be really useful for people who want to keep a button "permanently" armed without it affecting the rest of their workflow. I personally want to use it for "remove time selection" so that I can clear any selection I have made just by clicking in a different part of the arrange window, just like in a text editor.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 05:18 AM   #5
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

+ 1 for sure
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 08:32 AM   #6
NAS
Human being with feelings
 
NAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In church, burning it down
Posts: 1,345
Default

Wouldn't an arming keycut be better here
So a tool is only armed when you hold a specific key ?
I'm not a key person myself but i thought this may be a useful idea here

NAS
__________________
Not Gods or Saints but HUMAN be
NAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:06 AM   #7
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAS View Post
Wouldn't an arming keycut be better here
So a tool is only armed when you hold a specific key ?
I'm not a key person myself but i thought this may be a useful idea here

NAS
Not enough modifiers available to integrate something like that really. That also wouldn't work for the functionality I am trying to get here, I just want to arm the toolbar button FOREVER. Having to hold a key the entire time I am working would be a bit annoying
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:21 AM   #8
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,797
Default

+1
if they simply only replaced the 'normal' pointer cursor with the 'A' cursor when armed, then mousing over edges for fades etc would give us the fade and item edge cursors as is usual.

you'd still know it was armed as 90% of the arrange space would yield the 'A' cursor (as well as the toolbar being lit) - and it would only change to normal cursors on edges etc. where the arm action won't function anyway.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:41 AM   #9
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
+1
if they simply only replaced the 'normal' pointer cursor with the 'A' cursor when armed, then mousing over edges for fades etc would give us the fade and item edge cursors as is usual.

you'd still know it was armed as 90% of the arrange space would yield the 'A' cursor (as well as the toolbar being lit) - and it would only change to normal cursors on edges etc. where the arm action won't function anyway.
Backed 100%, this is the perfect solution!
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:58 AM   #10
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default


Vote for keeping standard trim/fade/item vol/time stretch/etc cursors here:
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=2428
Confirm "undo" survival bug here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=57198
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:03 AM   #11
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,797
Default

ah, cool
voted though not being a 'sexy' feature getting more than a dozen votes may be tricky - democracy sucks.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 12:19 PM   #12
shakey.oberon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
ah, cool
voted though not being a 'sexy' feature getting more than a dozen votes may be tricky - democracy sucks.
so true
shakey.oberon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 09:57 AM   #13
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,909
Default

maybe this is a bug rather than a FR - the design is such that cursors indicate the actions that will take place when clicked - if they don't do it when there's an armed tool then its a bug...

voted anyhow...
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:29 AM   #14
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Bump.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 09:14 AM   #15
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

DONE!
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.