Old 05-04-2010, 04:45 AM   #1
flowheimer
Human being with feelings

Default Multi-Mic Tracks

I'm not a programmer but I've often wondered how, if I were writing my own DAW software, I would address the issue of multiple-mic recordings; a drum kit, for example.

I'm familiar with Reaper and Cubendo. In those worlds, in order to perform edits across several tracks, the media events on tracks have to be selected and grouped. To me this has always seemed a bit of a kludge.

I've always thought it'd be neat to be able to freely designate a number of selected tracks as a single instrument. I call this a "Multi-Mic Group" (MMG).

Creating an MMG should be as easy as selecting a number of tracks, right-clicking one of them and choosing "Create Multi-Mic Group". The grouped tracks would bear a distinct visual feature that identifies them as an MMG. Dissolving the MMG should be just as easy.

The primary distinction between MMGs and grouped events is that an MMG would be quickly collapsible/foldable (at the touch of a button) to a single lane. Picture 12 tracks of drums appearing and behaving as one, with takes lining up neatly under one another, each in its own lane*, just like mono tracks do. Imagine how easy that would be to comp (given a robust comping feature)! Naturally, an MMG would be quickly expandable to full height for more detailed editing.

An MMG can be momentarily disabled without being dissolved for the purpose of editing a single mic independently of the group (maybe via an action, "toggle disable for active MMG").

Collapsed/folded MMGs would be represented on screen by the waveform of one of the contained tracks, say the kick or snare in the case of a drum kit. The representing waveform of choice could be quickly selected with a shortcut key or context menu.

Food for thought?

fH