Old 02-11-2007, 10:15 PM   #1
spike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default Tascam US428 control surface

Hi, I've seen people talking about using tascam sufaces in reaper. How do I do this with my US428? Its about the only feature I miss from other DAWS. thanks.
spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 01:23 PM   #2
maillet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default us 428 Tascam

I would also be interested in reaper+us 428 control surface. That would count me in.
Maillet
maillet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:23 PM   #3
Kevin Deschwazi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 2
Default

My Tascam firewire interface works with reaper.

You might as well just download it and give it a try. To set as the audio interface go to options -> preferences -> audio device and select the driver for you tascam.

Then options -> preferences -> control surface and select the tascam there.

Good luck
Kevin Deschwazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 12:44 AM   #4
spike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Kevin, I just use ASIO 16bit for the tascam.

no tascam selections available in the control surface section at all.
spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:41 AM   #5
maillet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default us 428 Tascam

The interface of the US-428 works well,the control parameters would be nice such as mackie,beh ect,ect.
maillet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 10:25 PM   #6
spike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

yes the audio interface of the tascam works fine, as you would expect from the ASIO driver. I'm looking forward to the day I can use the control surface features. any idea when of if that will happen?

cheers.
spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 12:42 AM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,479
Default

If you guys can get tascam to lend me one for a couple weeks I can add support for it..

otherwise does it support mackie emulation?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 12:06 AM   #8
spike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Justin,

the closest I think we can get is the midi implimentation from thje manual (appendix b): http://finearts.uvic.ca/visualarts/m...scam428_V3.pdf

could be useful as I think its standard across the us range..

cheers.
spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 12:58 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spike View Post
Justin,

the closest I think we can get is the midi implimentation from thje manual (appendix b): http://finearts.uvic.ca/visualarts/m...scam428_V3.pdf

could be useful as I think its standard across the us range..

cheers.
it's nice that they supply the specs.. but to be honest I really need one to do the development on.. it means the difference between it taking a week and a day...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 06:04 AM   #10
Alsion
Human being with feelings
 
Alsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 144
Default

Man, if I wouldn't be located that far away from you, I would lend you my Tascam US-2400. But from the south of Germany to San Francisco...
Alsion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:58 AM   #11
spike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Justin, any chance of having the ability to open up the ability for people to write there own control surface config?

I would be happy to just have the transport controls and jog wheel available. I'm not sure how you implement your setup or if this is possible at all??

cheers
spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 06:14 AM   #12
ringstone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spike View Post
Justin, any chance of having the ability to open up the ability for people to write there own control surface config?
I second this, if it was possible to farm the config for each different surface to an external text file, this could be edited and tested by someone actually owning that device. There would not even be any need to distribute all these files with Reaper - owners of particularly arcane hardware could download the definitions separately.

I have a Tascam FW-1082 which is usable with the Mackie Control preset, albeit with a number of issues. The FW-1082 can operate in Native Mode or using one of a number of emulations: Mackie Control, HUI, Cubase LE, Cubase SX/Nuendo.

When using the Mackie Control preset:
Faders; Sel, Solo and Mute buttons; Bank Select; Arrow keys (move cursor); Jog/Shuttle wheel, STOP, PLAY, RECORD - All work correctly.
Pan - only affects channel 1 (unit has a single pan knob that should affect selected track).
IN (Move to loop start, or punch-in point) - drops a marker
REW - jumps to start of track
FFWD - jumps to end of track
Locate<, Locate>, SET, OUT, EQ/Aux knobs - don't work at all.

When using the Cubase LE,Cubase SX/Nuendo presets:
As above, except;
Pan works correctly.
Jog wheel works, shuttle doesn't.
EQ/Aux knobs also affect pan on various tracks but inconsistently.

It is workable, but it would be nice to able to operate Pan automation while having the shuttle function working. It would be handy if the REW/FFWD, and locate functions were working as well.
ringstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 08:15 PM   #13
Count Bassie
Human being with feelings
 
Count Bassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 124
Default

Dude, if I still had my US-428, I'd send it to you to get this done with. So who's going to send Justin their US-428...? Come on, who's got the short straw...

I know. It's easy to volunteer someone else. But I'd do it- I swear!
__________________
"Whatever we do, it is what it is, and we do it."

-The Grubs
Count Bassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 09:44 PM   #14
Highwayman2300
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Id send you mine but i just got it and its the only interface i got,and the only thing keeping me from using reaper is it not working with it.
Highwayman2300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 12:03 PM   #15
4fmb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default US 428 Still Needed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
it's nice that they supply the specs.. but to be honest I really need one to do the development on.. it means the difference between it taking a week and a day...
Justin, has anyone sent you a 428 yet? I just got turned on to Reaper by a friend, checked it out, love it (I'm a conflicted Cubase SX3 guy), and registered. If you're still willing to add support, I'll ship you mine for a couple of weeks. Let me know how to proceed.

Thanks!

Mark
4fmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 07:42 AM   #16
swregs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Just saw this thread when Mark posted and brought it alive again.

I also have a Tascam US-428 that I would love to use for control surface.

I am happy to send it off to Justin for as long as he needs it to facilitate adding support to Reaper.

Regards,

asw
swregs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:20 PM   #17
Yellowsnow
Human being with feelings
 
Yellowsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
If you guys can get tascam to lend me one for a couple weeks I can add support for it..

otherwise does it support mackie emulation?

It does have some sort of makie emulation. Heres the 4 modes it can bet set too according to the Tascam Manual.

Mackie Control (Sonar)
Mackie Control (Digital Performer)
Mackie Control (Logic)
Native Mode

You'll have probably read it by the time you see this, but i sent you a PM about loaning you mine, since were both in The Bay. Let me know
Yellowsnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 04:49 PM   #18
cbenci
Human being with feelings
 
cbenci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In your cupboard with something for you in my hand.
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spike View Post
Justin, any chance of having the ability to open up the ability for people to write there own control surface config?

I would be happy to just have the transport controls and jog wheel available. I'm not sure how you implement your setup or if this is possible at all??

cheers
Please Justin? I also would love this functionality.
__________________
When I had a four track I wrote music ... now I just play with plugins.

www.thoughtbox.com.au - www.trojanband.com.au
cbenci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 05:53 AM   #19
Philip Wild
Human being with feelings
 
Philip Wild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dapto NSW Australia
Posts: 3
Default

I am a US-428 owner and also a Tracktion user.
The US-428 isn't directly supported in Tracktion but
has custom control surface mapping using midi learn
and the ability to save the mapping in a text file which
can be shared with other users.
Is this possible to do in Reaper.
Philip Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 10:04 AM   #20
Alsion
Human being with feelings
 
Alsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 144
Default

http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5466
Alsion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 09:42 AM   #21
roadpebble
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default

I loaded up Reaper this past week and have found it to be a fine program; however, I am a US428 owner and am also getting stuck on the fact that it is not supported in Reaper.
Is there any progress on getting the US428 compatible?
roadpebble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:10 AM   #22
mrbungle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

As soon as the Fw1082 is fully implemented then Justin will get my cash.
mrbungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 07:39 PM   #23
Count Bassie
Human being with feelings
 
Count Bassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbungle View Post
As soon as the Fw1082 is fully implemented then Justin will get my cash.
There's a hard-earned $40!
__________________
"Whatever we do, it is what it is, and we do it."

-The Grubs
Count Bassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 11:10 AM   #24
mrbungle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Count Bassie View Post
There's a hard-earned $40!
Hey i got debts to rival a small African nation
mrbungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 07:06 PM   #25
Count Bassie
Human being with feelings
 
Count Bassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbungle View Post
Hey i got debts to rival a small African nation
Yeah, we have a house too!
__________________
"Whatever we do, it is what it is, and we do it."

-The Grubs
Count Bassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 05:11 AM   #26
mrbungle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Count Bassie View Post
Yeah, we have a house too!
lol,cost of living eh
mrbungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 10:27 PM   #27
Edwood
Human being with feelings
 
Edwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Jersey Shore USA
Posts: 430
Default

Anything new on the Tascam 428 front? Ed
Edwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 02:33 PM   #28
SmoothBro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 52
Default

Hello all. I've been using Reaper for a few weeks now and my wife got her hands on a us-428. I'm wondering if anyone has managed to get theirs working since this thread. I got the audio part working, but it would be great to get the other features of the device working. Thanks in advance.
SmoothBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 10:44 AM   #29
Bob3Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Bob3Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 35
Default got it working!

After much tweaking and trial and error, I finally got the Tascam US-428 working with reaper as a control surface using midi translator and midi yoke. Initial setup is a little clunky, but the stuff that works is working great. This project is about 85% finished, once it is fully working I will post the entire process along with my midi translator presets. Of course, once Reaper supports the US-428 directly then all of this wont be necessary :-)

Right now I am stuck on the mute/solo thing. I have tried running the US-428 in all modes and I found Native mode works best. But the midi notes for mute and solo are the same, so right now I am able to mute a track but not solo it. The solo button is supposed to toggle mute/solo in the DAW but I am not sure how to do that.

If anyone can help with the solo button, and toggling mute/solo in Reaper (if that is even possible) then please chime in.

The other thing that is not working is pan. Pan and solo may both be prohibitively difficult to implement in Native Mode.

Here is the basic setup:

Tascam US-428 running in Native Mode
Two instances of Midi Translator, one for send, one for receive
Midi Yoke (yes it can be installed on Vista)
Reaper >> options >> control surfaces >> add >> Mackie Control
MIDI input: In from MIDI Yoke 1
MIDI output: Out to MIDI Yoke 2

MidiTranslator1 recvs from US428 control & sends to MIDI Yoke 1
MidiTranslator2 recvs from MIDI Yoke2 & sends to US428 Control


I have created custom presets for Midi Translator (Classic) to make this work. I will post them once everything is working. If you want a copy of the rough presets, send me a private message. In order to have two instances of Midi Translator running, the application has be copied and the second copy renamed to something meaningful like MidiTranslator_Receive.exe.

Last edited by Bob3Rocks; 05-08-2008 at 06:03 AM.
Bob3Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 03:27 PM   #30
SmoothBro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob3Rocks View Post
After much tweaking and trial and error, I finally got the Tascam US-428 working with reaper as a control surface using midi translator and midi yoke. Initial setup is a little clunky, but the stuff that works is working great. This project is about 85% finished, once it is fully working I will post the entire process along with my midi translator presets. Of course, once Reaper supports the US-428 directly then all of this wont be necessary :-)

Right now I am stuck on the mute/solo thing. I have tried running the US-428 in all modes and I found Native mode works best. But the midi notes for mute and solo are the same, so right now I am able to mute a track but not solo it. The solo button is supposed to toggle mute/solo in the DAW but I am not sure how to do that.

If anyone can help with the solo button, and toggling mute/solo in Reaper (if that is even possible) then please chime in.

That is awesome!!! I've been wanting to use this for a while now, but could not get it working. I've been searching the net for some ways to get it working and I came across this site:
http://beatprisoner.com/index.php?op...&id=2&Itemid=2

I know it's primarily for reason but it also says it can be used for other daws. I'm going to try this as soon as I can. Maybe this will help.
SmoothBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 11:44 AM   #31
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,196
Default

Any good news from Justin and the people who were ready to lend him their US428?
I got a one too and I'd like so much to use it with Reaper...
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 05:38 AM   #32
Edwood
Human being with feelings
 
Edwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Jersey Shore USA
Posts: 430
Default

Bob3 Rocks: Anything new on the Tascam 428 setup? Thank's Ed
Edwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 07:38 PM   #33
Bob3Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Bob3Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwood View Post
Bob3 Rocks: Anything new on the Tascam 428 setup? Thank's Ed
One of my volume faders got noisy so I have given my US428 a break and I am using Tranzport now. The only thing I miss is having some extra knobs to define for custom contols.

If you want to give midit ranslator and midi yoke a try, I can send you my midi tranislator presets. The US428 works nicely with the setup I described above.
Bob3Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 09:58 PM   #34
Edwood
Human being with feelings
 
Edwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Jersey Shore USA
Posts: 430
Default

That would be great! gandydancers@msn.com Thank you , Ed
Edwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 01:16 PM   #35
RadioAction
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Can I get a copy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob3Rocks View Post
After much tweaking and trial and error, I finally got the Tascam US-428 working with reaper as a control surface using midi translator and midi yoke. Initial setup is a little clunky, but the stuff that works is working great. This project is about 85% finished, once it is fully working I will post the entire process along with my midi translator presets. Of course, once Reaper supports the US-428 directly then all of this wont be necessary :-)

Right now I am stuck on the mute/solo thing. I have tried running the US-428 in all modes and I found Native mode works best. But the midi notes for mute and solo are the same, so right now I am able to mute a track but not solo it. The solo button is supposed to toggle mute/solo in the DAW but I am not sure how to do that.

If anyone can help with the solo button, and toggling mute/solo in Reaper (if that is even possible) then please chime in.

The other thing that is not working is pan. Pan and solo may both be prohibitively difficult to implement in Native Mode.

Here is the basic setup:

Tascam US-428 running in Native Mode
Two instances of Midi Translator, one for send, one for receive
Midi Yoke (yes it can be installed on Vista)
Reaper >> options >> control surfaces >> add >> Mackie Control
MIDI input: In from MIDI Yoke 1
MIDI output: Out to MIDI Yoke 2

MidiTranslator1 recvs from US428 control & sends to MIDI Yoke 1
MidiTranslator2 recvs from MIDI Yoke2 & sends to US428 Control


I have created custom presets for Midi Translator (Classic) to make this work. I will post them once everything is working. If you want a copy of the rough presets, send me a private message. In order to have two instances of Midi Translator running, the application has be copied and the second copy renamed to something meaningful like MidiTranslator_Receive.exe.
Hi Bob,

I'm trying to follow your howto getting this us-428 working. I just downloaded Reaper to give it a try (long time Sonar user here). I was wondering if I could get a copy of or your Midi Transator configurations. I tried PM-ing but that wouldn't work for me for some reason.

Anyway, if you don't mind e-mail, my address is overturfa@hotmail(dot)com
Thanks!
RadioAction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:19 AM   #36
Bob3Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Bob3Rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 35
Default midi translator presets

I have attached the midi translator presets to this post.

Please note, there are a few custom key commands in there which you can turn off or delete.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Bome's Midi Translator.zip (2.2 KB, 211 views)

Last edited by Bob3Rocks; 12-01-2008 at 10:24 AM.
Bob3Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 02:23 PM   #37
Sloom
Human being with feelings
 
Sloom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Smithfield, RI, USA
Posts: 28
Default

A'right, I see some of you guys have something working for the US-428. I had posted inquiries about this as my former screen-namd, "Count Bassie". I changed names because... I don't remember. Probably a dumb reason, forget it... anyway I'm curious if anyone ever sent Justin the device? I would be happy enough to send mine off for a while- I'm not using it until I can use it in Reaper anyway!

Is this still a reasonable idea? I just won't sit here long enough to get that Bome's thing going. It's math, and I don't do math unless it's a chord progression.
__________________
"Whatever we do, it is what it is, and we do it".
-The Grubs
Sloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:22 PM   #38
passerby3141
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default Back from the dead!

Just pulled out my us428, and realized, it needs support. Will have a go at some of the suggestions here, I suppose Justin never got to this. Thought I'd post just to say, there are still of us out there looking for a solution.
passerby3141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 04:30 AM   #39
Sloom
Human being with feelings
 
Sloom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Smithfield, RI, USA
Posts: 28
Default

I emailed the administration here about sending them mine. They said they'd get to me about it, maybe for the next round of Reaper (version) or so. Nothing in stone, but I took it in a positive way. I have it set up now and use it for Audacity and Cool Edit. Maybe if I install my old Cakewalk Home Studio and talk about it a bit that'll help it along... ;b

I do believe support is coming...
__________________
"Whatever we do, it is what it is, and we do it".
-The Grubs
Sloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:00 PM   #40
flynsk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Just wanted to poke my head out and be counted as another US-428/Reaper user hoping for native support. I'm in Seattle, and could potentially lend mine as well... don't know how long I can go without it though :P

To previous commenters: this forum, and thread in particular, definitely played a part in my decision to purchase a license and switch fully to Reaper. The workarounds, keyfile, etc. are greatly appreciated... thank you all for being so forthcoming and not at all dickish. Awesome community for an awesome program.

Thanks,
Flynn
flynsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.