Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 07-14-2010, 12:57 AM   #1
FermentedDigeridoo
Human being with feelings

Default Read'em and Reap - A Little Confused with Reaper but thanks Nonetheless

First of all - thanks, Cockos, for the wonderful software. You are making my life a lot easier with it.

Second - allow me to introduce myself. I am an emerging film composer and have many credible works behind me and in the works. See me on my website http://radio3.cbc.ca/bands/Sean-Goresht. Only my latest track has been uploaded, but I plan on uploading more once I work a little with the film director.

The reason I switched to Reaper is the versatility of the 64-bit engine, ReWire support, and support with Linux (yes, I am a Linux fan).

Finally - why I'm a little confused. I've pretty much succeeded in setting up an orchestral template. What's confusing me, however, is that my second instance of Kontakt no longer plays sound even when Record Monitoring is set ON on both the audio and MIDI tracks respectively. Something along the way of what I do (grouping, colouring, etc.) seems to mess things up. When I add the second instance of Kontakt, all audio works fine... it's something I'm doing in between. So that's the first reason I'm confused.

The second problem is that I don't know the CC values of the envelopes (on the respective MIDI tracks) when I insert them. Is there a way to see this? I just want to control the CC value of 7 (volume) on Kontakt. Would that be the "send volume"?

The third problem I'm having is the ReWire setup with Notion. Notion's ReWire client IS registered and shows up in Reaper. It's just mind-boggling to me how to get started routing all my MIDI tracks to Notion. What's the best way of doing this? Is there a tutorial anywhere I can see? Am I only limited to controlling 16 MIDI tracks in Reaper through the ReWire setup?