Old 08-01-2010, 01:54 PM   #1
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default Display filled waveforms at normal zoom levels

FR: Option to display filled waveforms at normal zoom levels

Summary: Currently, you can only view filled waveforms if you set that specific option when zoomed in at sample level. This FR is a very simple and basic request to allow filled waveforms as an option at regular zoom levels as well.

So instead of this:


We would have the option to display it more like this:


This makes it a lot easier to edit certain types of material and makes "seeing" what's going on a lot easier under certain circumstances. It would be a preference in Appearance>Peaks/Waveforms so the current view can still be available when needed.

Here's a mockup of the preference window, notice the added option "Draw filled waveforms instead of lines" (Thanks to EvilDragon for the mockup!)
[img]http://img225.**************/img225/6238/zoomdraw.png[/img]


Vote here: http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=2804

Last edited by AdamWathan; 08-01-2010 at 02:48 PM.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 02:17 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,835
Default

+1 on this.

I have done some tests, and this new property would be useful to draw up until zoom level which corrseponds to a space of 1 second between two grid notches, as per this settings:

[IMG]http://img832.**************/img832/1999/zoomlvl.png[/IMG]


And properties would look like this then (added "Draw filled waveform instead of line"):

[IMG]http://img225.**************/img225/6238/zoomdraw.png[/IMG]

Last edited by EvilDragon; 08-01-2010 at 02:51 PM.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 02:25 PM   #3
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

I would personally prefer if the sample level options were left alone and this option was added as a new preference for when zoomed out from sample view...

Just add a checkbox for "Fill Waveforms", easy as that. Then I could still have dots and lines mode or steps mode or whatever I wanted for sample viewing!
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 02:37 PM   #4
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
I would personally prefer if the sample level options were left alone and this option was added as a new preference for when zoomed out from sample view...

Just add a checkbox for "Fill Waveforms", easy as that. Then I could still have dots and lines mode or steps mode or whatever I wanted for sample viewing!
Yes, that's exactly what I'd like.

+1
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 02:40 PM   #5
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

+1 here and voted
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 02:47 PM   #6
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Nice, got some momentum here! That mockup is perfect ED, thanks for that, I'm going to add it to the tracker and the first post if you don't mind!

This should hoooopefully be super easy to implement since the code is already there for high zoom levels...
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 02:50 PM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Nice, got some momentum here! That mockup is perfect ED, thanks for that, I'm going to add it to the tracker and the first post if you don't mind!
Of course I don't mind, cosin Larry, don't be ridiculous!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:31 AM   #8
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Buuuump...

I'm struggling to find any other DAWs that don't show filled waveforms, there must be a reason that that is the standard method of showing audio on screen? I know I personally like it better but I think tons of Reaper users would like it better too and have just never noticed or been able to look at the two options side by side.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:42 AM   #9
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

Vegas, for eg.

i hope its gonna be optional - i dont need this at all
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:48 AM   #10
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

I'm fully with you on this Adam. Also not sure why it's got so few votes..............my crossfade display FR isn't very popular either for some reason
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:03 AM   #11
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,275
Default

I use Audition as my external wav editor... hard to say if it uses filled or not as it changes as the zoom increases... It's display makes sense to me but I've used it for a long time so I'm familiar with it. That said, IMHO this IS what zooming in a wav editor should look like:
[unfortunately, LICECap does not capture the tooltips, nor the gain widget.. I tried to pause enough so you could read the tooltip for the functions being clicked, but they don't show in the gif.... oh well, you'll get the idea]



Right down to the bits and with the ability to operate on them, move, cut, delete, whatever....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:25 PM   #12
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Bump! I know this isn't a really exciting or sexy feature but it's a small detail that can make a big difference visually when editing.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.