Old 08-07-2010, 10:41 AM   #1
brucer2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Error creating project file! Project not saved!

the problem is that i try to save and the error message comes
up saying Error creating project file! project not saved
and i just did a whole lot work!!!! please help i dont
want to restart there must be something i did or need to do
in order to save my project!!!!
brucer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 10:46 AM   #2
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,473
Default

Just a thought

Make sure you are not trying to save to a CD rom or some other drive that you either dont have permission or that might not be writable.

Maybe try a 'save as' to some other location.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 01:17 PM   #3
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,609
Default

Typically, when this happens to me I try to save somewhere where I do not have permission to write (or the disk is full). Do "Save As...", just as Runaway says, and be sure to "Copy media" at the same time.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:44 PM   #4
bobby yarrow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Default

I was just running a search before starting my own thread. I get this error message with every project, but only on the automatic backup saves . . . when I manually save the project, it saves fine.

It must be an error in my project settings, in the template I use for all my projects.

Any thoughts on that?
bobby yarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:58 PM   #5
bobby yarrow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Default

I figured out what my particular problem was. I had the backups set to go an additional directory, but the directory was gone. I'm kind of an idiot.
bobby yarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 10:15 PM   #6
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby yarrow View Post
I'm kind of an idiot.
Kind of ?? LOL

We've all been there in some shape or form ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 04:38 AM   #7
Cosmic
Human being with feelings
 
Cosmic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Online
Posts: 4,723
Default

I just did the exact same thing..rearranged my media drive during a housekeeping push and moved my back up folder.

But now its all good.

I was an hour looking for the answer though,because I was too lazy to type in the exact error message into google.So theres a lesson there also.
__________________
it aint worth a bop,if it dont got that pop
Cosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:35 AM   #8
Sal-Ca Musician
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default Sorry for been stupid!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby yarrow View Post
I was just running a search before starting my own thread. I get this error message with every project, but only on the automatic backup saves . . . when I manually save the project, it saves fine.

It must be an error in my project settings, in the template I use for all my projects.

Any thoughts on that?
Could you reply me with the guide of how to fix it step by step?
I'm not able to find out the solution for the same issue you had (or I think you had): "Error creating project file! project not saved!"
Sal-Ca Musician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 06:07 AM   #9
Scoox
Human being with feelings
 
Scoox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 265
Default Is this a bug?

After re-installing Windows, I was getting the same error.

I had set REAPER to automatically save projects every 5 minutes to the following folder:

C:\Users\Scoox\AppData\Local\Temp\REAPER\Autosave

Because it was a fresh Windows install, the \REAPER\... folder structure was gone. However, I had also set REAPER's "Alternate waveform peak (.reapeaks) cache path" to:

C:\Users\Scoox\AppData\Local\Temp\REAPER\Reapeaks

which was also non-existent, yet REAPER had no trouble creating the missing folder structure, therefore it should too be able to create the missing folder structure when auto-saving projects.

This is probably a small bug/oversight.
Scoox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.