Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Old 08-13-2010, 04:32 AM   #1
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings

Default MIDI editors: Add support for Note Off events (DONE)

It is shameful that Reaper still doesn't support these, even in Event List! Here's a proposition: rename the current Velocity lane to "Note On Velocity", and add a "Note Off Velocity" lane. Or simply call them "Note On" and "Note Off". Here's how this would look:

[IMG]http://a.**************/img819/5023/noteofflane.png[/IMG]

VOTE: HERE!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:31 AM   #2
Subz

help me vote

whats it for, why is it there?

i don't get it & i started out with all external midi gear (AKAI S200, Bass Station, JV5080) & Cakewalk 6 as the midi host i have no knowledge of velocity note off?

what can detect it? any vsti's? what would i map it to?

i'm all up for improvements in the midi editor when it comes to note off's (see the way reaper deals with overlapping notes on the same key! now that is shameful!! the Trim options help out there but its not the same,

seeing as trim had to be added to make the midi do what it dose in all other hosts i have used i guess note offs in Reaper are no easy thing to reprogram,

all other hosts send a note off before the note on with overlapping midi & then ignore the real note off for the underling key that was cut short by the overlapping key (exactly what trim dose)

anywhoo, back to helping me want your FR

Subz
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:45 AM   #3
EvilDragon

Some VSTi recognize note off, for example Pianoteq 3. You can route it to release time, or reverb amount, or harpsichord release click volume, whatever

Some keyboards send out note off, for example most of Korg keyboards do (even though for most of them it's not stated in the manual!), Kurzweils do, some Waldorf synths as well (Q, Blofeld...)
Old 08-13-2010, 09:03 AM   #4
MatticusFinch