Old 01-24-2011, 09:49 AM   #81
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Big thanks to Mim for helping me sort out PT pre & post xfades.

Who would have thought there could be anything complicated about a xfade - ya just have to love PT - Not!
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:19 AM   #82
MrsBuz
Human being with feelings
 
MrsBuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 1
Default Can't seem to find the AAtranslator demo to try out

I can't seem to find the demo of the AAtranslator to try out. Am I looking in the wrong place? I went to http://www.aatranslator.com.au/ If anyone could help I would appreciate it, my husband and I are often in 2 different places on 2 different DAWs and it sounds like this could be an answer to our prayers although I would like to try before we both buy.
Thanks in advance
MrsBuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:20 PM   #83
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrsBuz View Post
I can't seem to find the demo of the AAtranslator to try out.
Unfortunately we no longer provide a demo version. We found it easier if potential buyers just send us test sessions for us to convert.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 06:26 AM   #84
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Been busy working on latest beta (v4.0.48).
Currently reading SAW Studio EDLs and that is progressing well.
Lots of other goodies being added as well
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:29 AM   #85
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default Donations

We have recently been approached by some who cant afford to purchase AATranslator or who only need a one off (or several one off) conversions and wanted to know if we could offer that service for a fee.

At this stage I dont really want to go down that path (maybe in the future) but as a compromise I have put a 'donation' button on the AATranslator web site.

So if we convert something for you and it has made your life easier and you want to make a small donation then we will gladly accept it.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:11 AM   #86
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Its getting close to another release. We have been extremely busy trying to make difficult conversions easier or at the very least more informative for potential issues.

We have also fixed a heap of little but annoying bugs as well as adding more formats, eg SAW Studio.

Stay tuned.....
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:26 AM   #87
misscc803
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Default

With the Version 4 can you now export Reaper sessions to an OMF? I need to be able to export out to an OMF from Reaper or at least a Pro Tools 7 or earlier file. I would prefer OMF though. I sent you a PM Run. If this new versions does this then you will have money in your Paypal account.

Thanks
Nicole
misscc803 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:40 AM   #88
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misscc803 View Post
With the Version 4 can you now export Reaper sessions to an OMF? I need to be able to export out to an OMF from Reaper or at least a Pro Tools 7 or earlier file. I would prefer OMF though. I sent you a PM Run. If this new versions does this then you will have money in your Paypal account.

Thanks
Nicole
Short answer is yes we convert an RPP to an OMF. An omf contains a lot less info than most expect. A pt5 file can contain far more info. I would prefer that you emailed me an rpp with a small audio file and I will convert it to both an embedded and a reference omf as well as a pt5 so that you can judge for yourelf the value of AAT

BTW I had already replied to the PM ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 08:17 AM   #89
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Bill Blue has surfaced again and forced me to pick up my game :-)

For PT7, 8 & 9 we have just added Track Volume & Track Pan values (both L & R) for tracks with no automation (well really like Reaper they have a single value)

Have also started working on listing the PT fx used in the Reaper notes.

We have also fixed a nagging bug that caused PT5 & OMF files to crash PT (I thought PT could do that all by itself)
Finally tracked it down to sessions where the video track was not on track one.

Gotta stop adding stuff so we can get a new release out :-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:36 AM   #90
Corniger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Cool! I'll have to convert to PT anyway So I'll do OMF, PT5 and - as the engineer wants it - WAVs. Luckily I can convert practically everything now.
__________________
www.aatranslator.com.au saved my butt!
Phenom II X6 1100T | 16 GB DDR3 | Presonus Firepod
Corniger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 05:56 PM   #91
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default I Just want to Smash Someone!!!!

Been chasing a bug for weeks which I'm sure has been annoying more than just me.

Yep you guessed it PT5 & OMF to PT - a sneaky elusive bug assumedly caused by AAT which caused PT to crash.

Well as it turns out yes I guess its our fault but only in that we failed to cater 100% for the total inadequacies of PT.

PT will happily give you a stupid pre or post xfade (what is that!!) but no unlike Reaper and a heap of others if you get a fadeout that starts before a xfade ends then well bugger me bones poor little PT craps out.

Well its fixed now and will be released this week with a new version.

Excuse me while I go and hit something!
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:54 AM   #92
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,724
Default

I'd hand you a cuddly toy tied the end of a metal pole, laced with nails(insert evil chuckle), but we're on opposite sides of the planet.

Looking forward to further testing OMF and PTx to Reaper capabilities. In three days I'll have some time to run the gauntlet on that with some PT and PT-OMF sessions.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:21 AM   #93
mim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
PT will happily give you a stupid pre or post xfade (what is that!!) but no unlike Reaper and a heap of others if you get a fadeout that starts before a xfade ends then well bugger me bones poor little PT craps out.

Well its fixed now and will be released this week with a new version.

Excuse me while I go and hit something!
Wow, that's good news ! I'll try that !
Good Work Michael !
mim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:36 AM   #94
Corniger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Just at the right time Michael, I hope you're getting rewarded adequately for creating that fine piece of software!
Pro Tools - can't wait to see it in action in 2 weeks... can I?
__________________
www.aatranslator.com.au saved my butt!
Phenom II X6 1100T | 16 GB DDR3 | Presonus Firepod
Corniger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 05:04 AM   #95
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corniger View Post
Just at the right time Michael, I hope you're getting rewarded adequately for creating that fine piece of software!
Pro Tools - can't wait to see it in action in 2 weeks... can I?
Let me see 2 times nothing is still .....

Email me and I will organise access to it now
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:02 AM   #96
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default v4.2 Released

Bit the bullet - v4.2 is out there now
All registered users should have been notified as to where to download it from
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:37 AM   #97
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
Bit the bullet - v4.2 is out there now
All registered users should have been notified as to where to download it from
Great to see this update. Well done!

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 10:24 AM   #98
Corniger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Oh, looks like there soon will have to be another donation on the way... Gotta keep that man a little motivated
__________________
www.aatranslator.com.au saved my butt!
Phenom II X6 1100T | 16 GB DDR3 | Presonus Firepod
Corniger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:22 AM   #99
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
Big thanks to Mim for helping me sort out PT pre & post xfades.

Who would have thought there could be anything complicated about a xfade - ya just have to love PT - Not!

There was a niggling bug still left to find on this one - luckily it seems mim is the only one using PT pre/post xfades - LOL

Thanks for your help & patience with this one mim
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:33 AM   #100
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,298
Default

@Runaway

How are you doing? Was wondering lately as I've been or find myself using Reaper Alpha 4 more and more then Cubase 5.5, was wondering if with your Translator software there is a easier and capabilities to migrate project from C5 to Reaper? Or not Yet?

Really curious

Thank you for any input
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 12:22 PM   #101
mim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
There was a niggling bug still left to find on this one - luckily it seems mim is the only one using PT pre/post xfades - LOL
Hey ! It's not my fault, I don't use pro tools

Maybe pre/post x fades are a European sound editor fashion ....
I'm pretty sure dialog editing goes pre/post xfades, where Music editing is just "now" fades.

It doesn't tell us why this thing exists... once you've done a pre/post xfades, in the end it is just a x fade ...

Thanks for your prompt reply, and your amazing work with AATranslator. I can't stop to recommand it to every girl I met.
mim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 01:38 PM   #102
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mim View Post
Thanks for your prompt reply, and your amazing work with AATranslator. I can't stop to recommand it to every girl I met.
Mim I need you out meeting more girls - LOL
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 01:46 PM   #103
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
@Runaway

How are you doing? Was wondering lately as I've been or find myself using Reaper Alpha 4 more and more then Cubase 5.5, was wondering if with your Translator software there is a easier and capabilities to migrate project from C5 to Reaper? Or not Yet?

Really curious

Thank you for any input
To be honest - no. I try to get a bit of time to work on 5.5 but there always seems to be something with a higher priority getting in the way. I only have one other person who has asked for it (unless you are that other person) so its hard to justify the resources - and everything else always takes longer than planned.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 02:19 PM   #104
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
To be honest - no. I try to get a bit of time to work on 5.5 but there always seems to be something with a higher priority getting in the way. I only have one other person who has asked for it (unless you are that other person) so its hard to justify the resources - and everything else always takes longer than planned.
hey @Runaway,

Thanx for replying. And might be me or maybe not who asked you before about this. But are you looking for to incorporate this feature in AA Translator? would be really cool!!!

Thanx a lot

Cheers!!
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 02:22 PM   #105
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
hey @Runaway,

Thanx for replying. And might be me or maybe not who asked you before about this. But are you looking for to incorporate this feature in AA Translator? would be really cool!!!

Thanx a lot

Cheers!!
I have a number of new formats that I'm trying to get into AAT and this is one of them - its just a little down the list thats all. It doesn't help if they are difficult :-(
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 02:28 PM   #106
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
I have a number of new formats that I'm trying to get into AAT and this is one of them - its just a little down the list thats all. It doesn't help if they are difficult :-(
Hear you there Guess gonna have to wait the time it will take

Thanx a lot for responding and till then will maybe try OMF or Transfer old fashion way (waves files)

Cheers!
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:27 AM   #107
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
Hear you there Guess gonna have to wait the time it will take

Thanx a lot for responding and till then will maybe try OMF or Transfer old fashion way (waves files)

Cheers!
Jog my memory - 5.5 exports track archives (xml)?
If so send me one (via the AAT web site - no media required) and I should be able to convert that or even an omf.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:23 AM   #108
Corniger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Default

OMF worked great! The only problem is, if projects exceed 2GB, then you can forget OMF. At least that is what Reaper told me when I tried to save OMF for use with Pro Tools. Anyway, I had PTF, so it didn't matter And it worked great, just returned from the studio in Sweden!
__________________
www.aatranslator.com.au saved my butt!
Phenom II X6 1100T | 16 GB DDR3 | Presonus Firepod
Corniger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:32 AM   #109
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corniger View Post
OMF worked great! The only problem is, if projects exceed 2GB, then you can forget OMF. At least that is what Reaper told me when I tried to save OMF for use with Pro Tools. Anyway, I had PTF, so it didn't matter And it worked great, just returned from the studio in Sweden!
You could always create a 'reference' OMF and that bypasses the 2gb limit.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:26 PM   #110
John Lundsten
Human being with feelings
 
John Lundsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omfoo View Post
Maybe you can help me. I’m having trouble understanding why OMF (v2.1) should have a 2gb or even a 4gb size limit.
<snip>

If you want your customers to be able to read or write huge OMF files then all you have to do is write code to support it.

Right?

There is no 2gb or 4gb limit in OMF 2.1. There never has been, and there never will be.
The limitation is not the Bento container, but what Avid who gave us all the OMF format choose to do with it.
Avid is God, they say 2gig, so we comply.
John L
John Lundsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 11:37 PM   #111
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lundsten View Post
Avid is God, ?
John L
oh really? let's look backwards

diva = devil is very alive
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:02 AM   #112
RonNovy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lundsten View Post
The limitation is not the Bento container, but what Avid who gave us all the OMF format choose to do with it.
Avid is God, they say 2gig, so we comply.
John L
Actually, the TOC is my only limitation here. If the start of the TOC is past the 4gig (32-bit limit) mark then it can't be located in the file because the header/footer data that tells the programs where the TOC is at and it is only 32-bit...

We could write the TOC at the start of the file before all the other data but then how do you write the TOC before you know where all the other data is supposed to be stored?

You could write it once at the beginning with zeroes as parameters and then write the other data and go back and write the TOC again but what will other applications do when they see the 64-bit offset/length commands? What if the TOC grows afterward... In 64-bit, you're screwed...

If it was designed for 64-bit in the beginning then it wouldn't be a problem, but there are just too many ways to break Bento and OMF in 64-bit and that's why it isn't supported. If I were the one designing the format I would have used an expendable or variable sized integer or even just a decimal form of a 64-bit number... would have been much easier. ;P
RonNovy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:07 AM   #113
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

There are already too many big problems with some daws not keeping to the OMF specification and thats why some omfs cannot be read by other daws etc.

OMF is/was just a sleight of hand by Avid to fool people into following their convoluted standard (remember OMF1?) and conning them yet again that they are the industry standard.

Like Didgy/Dodgy OMF promised so much and delivered so little (markers/cues anyone?)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:39 AM   #114
Omfoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Fwiw OMGetPropertySegmentInfo(), CMWriteValueData(), and CMReadValueData() exported in OMFTOOLKIT.DLL all accept 64-bit offsets.
Code:
typedef omfInt64  CMSize;
typedef omfInt64  CMCount;
typedef omfInt64  omfPosition_t;
Omfoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:40 AM   #115
Omfoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lundsten View Post
John L
Sorry, my post was way too weird so I deleted it.
Omfoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:45 AM   #116
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Jog my memory - exactly which daws support omf files larger than 2gb?
Because if PT isn't one of them it really don't matter as apparently thats all anyone cares about ;-)

Besides that if no-one can read it then there's not much point in writing it.

I suspect that Didgi would rather you used AAF.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:48 AM   #117
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,724
Default

Yeah.

And most folks these days prefer non-embedded OMF and AAF files anyway. That way the picture editors can use the original downmix track of the recorder and have Titan or Assemblerator reconstruct all the other recorded production sound from the production sound recorder files, because the timestamps and all the other data wasn't destroyed when Jack McMedia Composer spit out an embedded OMF with handle-length truncated audio files inside.

I get almost only AAF files now, but I have PT7 and 9 to convert them to PT sessions that AATranslator can then convert. Still need to do a few tests though. I still need to deliver PT sessions quite often :\ .

One question. Why do Reaper sessions show up with SECONDS in the time ruler ? It's all correct, but that minor detail always gets to me.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 10:13 AM   #118
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,418
Default

Open Mother F@@ker

just think what the world would have been like without AVID
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:09 PM   #119
Omfoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Well, I just looked through the source code for OMFTOOLKIT.DLL. It’s cross-platform and uses the ANSI C standard library for file I/O. The ball-buster of course is fseek(). Therein lies the 2gb limit.

If Avid had compiled their shit for Win32 and used SetFilePointer() we wouldn’t have this problem.
Omfoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:25 PM   #120
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Yeah.
One question. Why do Reaper sessions show up with SECONDS in the time ruler ? It's all correct, but that minor detail always gets to me.
Why didn't you just say?

I'm sitting around here doing nothing - LOL

I'll check it out and fix it
Sigh.....once more back into didgy's PT format


LOL
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.