Old 08-20-2011, 02:57 AM   #1
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default New MIDI recording mode.

Can you guys help me out with an idea please?

This is all related to the bitching in my signature, and I think there is probably a fairly simple solution to achieve what I am trying to do.

Basically, what I need, is to define a loop, record through it a couple of times, press stop, and have the last complete loop recorded.

That's it.

None of the MIDI recording modes allow for this, and I've managed to fumble a solution together with record input, takes and macros, but surely it would be simplest if there was a recording mode that would facilitate this need?

Reasonable?

Make any sense?

*edit*

Like this:



But that's a convoluted thing:

__________________
I am a universal adaptor.

Last edited by copacetic; 08-20-2011 at 03:03 AM.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 12:14 AM   #2
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default

Anyone?
__________________
I am a universal adaptor.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 02:28 AM   #3
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 311
Default

Isn't that 'Record:MIDI replace in existing items'?
I'm confused...
Maybe you could try to explain it better?
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 03:29 AM   #4
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtmanActive View Post
Isn't that 'Record:MIDI replace in existing items'?
I'm confused...
Maybe you could try to explain it better?


Compare this to the first animation I provided.

It's pointless if it overwrites the notes that were created in the previous loop.

Basically, I need it to delete every previous full loop, and always keep the last full loop, discarding any incomplete loops.

Not sure how to better explain it, and it seems pretty simple to me.
__________________
I am a universal adaptor.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 04:51 AM   #5
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,484
Default

So if you record 4.5 loops, then stop recording, it saves only the 4th complete loop and deletes loop 1, 2, 3, & the 0.5 (which would be loop 5 had it fully recorded?)
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:12 AM   #6
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeroephonics View Post
So if you record 4.5 loops, then stop recording, it saves only the 4th complete loop and deletes loop 1, 2, 3, & the 0.5 (which would be loop 5 had it fully recorded?)
Precisely.
__________________
I am a universal adaptor.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 02:03 PM   #7
Duende
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default the looping issue had me unerved from day one

So just agreeing chiming in to agree I would like this to make more sense.
Duende is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 01:54 AM   #8
another_one_of_those_guys
Human being with feelings
 
another_one_of_those_guys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In a nice cozy place.
Posts: 39
Default

Do you mean like the 'continuous take' feature in Studio One.

When you are recording a piece, especially audio like a live guitar you set a finite parameter and record. When you come to the end of this section unless you've pressed stop, it cycles back and you record another take as many times as you feel the need and when you are done audition each one and delete the the ones that were not good enough leaving you with the prefect take.
__________________
Pentium 4 DualCore (3.06GHz, 3.07GHz) - 3gb RAM, Win32 SP-3 - Lexicon Omega USB Audio Interface - Korg nanoKontrol2 - Alesis SR-16 - My own Gonzo Adrenaline - Don't Make Me Blog About It! (My product review blog)
another_one_of_those_guys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 03:01 AM   #9
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,646
Default

I'm just going to say, this stuff is not getting thought through properly. Not looking forward to the next band aid that gets tacked on.

Don't we currently have a request raised to delete the remnant at the end of the current take that was meant for the next take? Where is the beginning note for the new take now going to be? Coz it was partially at the end of the previous take and deleted? Isn't that what was asked for?
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 03:14 AM   #10
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazed View Post
I'm just going to say, this stuff is not getting thought through properly. Not looking forward to the next band aid that gets tacked on.

Don't we currently have a request raised to delete the remnant at the end of the current take that was meant for the next take? Where is the beginning note for the new take now going to be? Coz it was partially at the end of the previous take and deleted? Isn't that what was asked for?
My brain is not with me this morning, but as far as I can tell, I can now do exactly what I wanted to do. I actually forgot I made this thread, until it was bumped now.
__________________
I am a universal adaptor.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 03:58 AM   #11
another_one_of_those_guys
Human being with feelings
 
another_one_of_those_guys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In a nice cozy place.
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazed View Post
I'm just going to say, this stuff is not getting thought through properly. Not looking forward to the next band aid that gets tacked on.

Don't we currently have a request raised to delete the remnant at the end of the current take that was meant for the next take? Where is the beginning note for the new take now going to be? Coz it was partially at the end of the previous take and deleted? Isn't that what was asked for?
Sorry for the bump, I was reading through this entire section and this vaguely reminded me of something I had some across trying to record a guitar part. The part where I got confused was partial takes are dropped from the resulting list of choices, and this is what I thought they meant. I'll be more conscientious before I bump a thread like this again.
__________________
Pentium 4 DualCore (3.06GHz, 3.07GHz) - 3gb RAM, Win32 SP-3 - Lexicon Omega USB Audio Interface - Korg nanoKontrol2 - Alesis SR-16 - My own Gonzo Adrenaline - Don't Make Me Blog About It! (My product review blog)
another_one_of_those_guys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 04:09 AM   #12
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by another_one_of_those_guys View Post
Sorry for the bump, I was reading through this entire section and this vaguely reminded me of something I had some across trying to record a guitar part. The part where I got confused was partial takes are dropped from the resulting list of choices, and this is what I thought they meant. I'll be more conscientious before I bump a thread like this again.


Something to do with this perhaps?
__________________
I am a universal adaptor.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 04:37 AM   #13
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by copacetic View Post


Something to do with this perhaps?
Sorry, just me being stupid. Didn't pay attention to the dates. I was rushing. Three lashes
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 04:44 AM   #14
copacetic
Human being with feelings
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazed View Post
Sorry, just me being stupid. Didn't pay attention to the dates. I was rushing. Three lashes
Every time you guys post in this thread, I get more confused.

__________________
I am a universal adaptor.
copacetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.