Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2012, 05:32 PM   #1
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
mrelwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,469
Default Dragging FX to another track reorders FX on original track (FIXED)

FX position changes in the FX list even when dragged outside the list.

Steps to reproduce:
Create 2 tracks. Put 3 plugins on track two. Select the plugins #2 and #3. Drag the plugins grabbing the plugin #3 to the first track in the TCP.

Expected result:
Plugins #2 and #3 copied to track 2 in that order, and the original FX list to remain unchanged.

What actually happens:
Plugins #2 and #3 are copied to track 2 in reverse order, and the original FX order changes to #3, #1, #2.

Suggestion for a fix:
The issue would be solved if the plugins would not reorder themselves when mouse cursor is outside the FX list.

Also, if several plugins are selected and dragged to reorder, all selected plugins should move. So that dragging the plugins #2 and #3 to the top of the list from the #3, would result as #2, #3, #1 instead of #3, #1, #2.

Or perhaps #3, #2, #1, so that all selected would move, but the grabbed one would get to be the first.

Screencast to demonstrate the issue:
http://screencast.com/t/dRpGHEMfS8v


Vote in the tracker:
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=3864
__________________
______Announcing__mrelwood plugins______
.. MacBook Pro 15" Late '13 .. Scarlett 6i6, Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000) .. FCA610 .. EVE: SC207 .. Focal: Alpha 65, CMS 40, Listen Pro ..
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:52 AM   #2
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,161
Default

Hi, I noticed a similar problem a while ago, but actually I figured it's because the effects get reordered while still dragging inside the original FX chain, that is even before dragging them out to the other track.

Is this the case or is this a different issue?

Thanks,
Mario
__________________
Instagram: @mabian_art - Twitter:: @MabianArt
Music: https://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - https://www.facebook.com/errepici
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:19 PM   #3
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
mrelwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,469
Default

What happened to you is the same end result, yes, but in the screencast the FX are dragged sideways, hoping to keep the current ordering.
__________________
______Announcing__mrelwood plugins______
.. MacBook Pro 15" Late '13 .. Scarlett 6i6, Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000) .. FCA610 .. EVE: SC207 .. Focal: Alpha 65, CMS 40, Listen Pro ..
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:34 AM   #4
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,161
Default

Arg, I see.

I think that the current mouse gesture asset can inherently cause this erratic behaviour.

One solution could be introducing a different (optional?) set of gestures:

- Simple drag just allows reordering effects in the chain

- Ctrl-drag copies effects within the chain or to other tracks/chains. (Reordering is never performed)

- Alt-drag moves effects to other tracks/chains (Reordering is never performed)

This should eliminate "by design" the chance that similar things happen.

Hope it helps,
Mario
__________________
Instagram: @mabian_art - Twitter:: @MabianArt
Music: https://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - https://www.facebook.com/errepici
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.